About Statutes

This page accesses the Code of Maryland (Statutes) and the Maryland Municipal Charters and Resolutions as compiled and maintained by the Department of Legislative Services.

The Code is arranged by and organized into “Articles” (e.g. Transportation Article), which are further subdivided into “titles”, “subtitles”, “sections”, “subsections”, “paragraphs”, subparagraphs”, etc.

Note that the “official” compilation of the laws (Chapters) enacted at each session of the General Assembly is published by the State as the “Laws of Maryland”, commonly referred to as the “Session Laws”. The Session Laws for each session are compiled chronologically by chapter number and serve as the source law from which the statutes accessed here are derived.

While the “Laws of Maryland” (Session Laws) constitute the official laws of the State, this Code and the annotated versions noted below are accepted as “evidence” of the law in all State courts and by all public offices and officials (See § 10-201 of the Courts & Judicial Proceedings Article). However, in the event of a conflict between the Code and the Session Laws, the Session Laws prevail.

Note: Annotated versions of the Code, published by LexisNexis and West, are available in book and online formats. These Annotated Codes include references to case law, related citations, and explanatory notations.

The Municipal Charters are updated each year by incorporating all charter resolutions received by the Department through May 31 of that year. Individual Municipal Resolutions are published to the General Assembly website as they are received by the Department.



Statute Text

Article - Criminal Law


[Previous][Next]

§3–322.

    (a)    A person may not:

        (1)    take the sexual organ of another or of an animal in the person’s mouth;

        (2)    place the person’s sexual organ in the mouth of another or of an animal; or

        (3)    commit another unnatural or perverted sexual practice with another or with an animal.

    (b)    A person who violates this section is guilty of a misdemeanor and on conviction is subject to imprisonment not exceeding 10 years or a fine not exceeding $1,000 or both.

    (c)    A person who violates this section is subject to § 5-106(b) of the Courts Article.

    (d)    An indictment for a violation of this section:

        (1)    is sufficient if it states that the defendant committed an unnatural and perverted sexual practice with a person or animal as applicable; but

        (2)    need not state the particular:

            (i)    unnatural or perverted sexual practice with which the defendant is charged; or

            (ii)    manner in which the defendant committed the unnatural or perverted sexual practice.

[Previous][Next]