About Statutes

This page accesses the Code of Maryland (Statutes) and the Maryland Municipal Charters and Resolutions as compiled and maintained by the Department of Legislative Services.

The Code is arranged by and organized into “Articles” (e.g. Transportation Article), which are further subdivided into “titles”, “subtitles”, “sections”, “subsections”, “paragraphs”, subparagraphs”, etc.

Note that the “official” compilation of the laws (Chapters) enacted at each session of the General Assembly is published by the State as the “Laws of Maryland”, commonly referred to as the “Session Laws”. The Session Laws for each session are compiled chronologically by chapter number and serve as the source law from which the statutes accessed here are derived.

While the “Laws of Maryland” (Session Laws) constitute the official laws of the State, this Code and the annotated versions noted below are accepted as “evidence” of the law in all State courts and by all public offices and officials (See § 10-201 of the Courts & Judicial Proceedings Article). However, in the event of a conflict between the Code and the Session Laws, the Session Laws prevail.

Note: Annotated versions of the Code, published by LexisNexis and West, are available in book and online formats. These Annotated Codes include references to case law, related citations, and explanatory notations.

The Municipal Charters are updated each year by incorporating all charter resolutions received by the Department through May 31 of that year. Individual Municipal Resolutions are published to the General Assembly website as they are received by the Department.



Statute Text

ati345254.tmp
Article - Criminal Law
§8–206.     IN EFFECT
(a)   A person may not for the purpose of obtaining money, goods, services, or anything of value, and with the intent to defraud another, use:
(1)   a credit card obtained or retained in violation of § 8–204 or § 8–205 of this subtitle; or
(2)   a credit card that the person knows is counterfeit.
(b)   A person may not, with the intent to defraud another, obtain money, goods, services, or anything of value by representing:
(1)   without the consent of the cardholder, that the person is the holder of a specified credit card; or
(2)   that the person is the holder of a credit card when the credit card had not been issued.
(c)    (1)    (i)   If the value of all money, goods, services, and other things of value obtained in violation of this section is at least $1,000 but less than $10,000, a person who violates this section is guilty of a felony and on conviction is subject to imprisonment not exceeding 10 years or a fine not exceeding $10,000 or both.
(ii)   If the value of all money, goods, services, and other things of value obtained in violation of this section is at least $10,000 but less than $100,000, a person who violates this section is guilty of a felony and on conviction is subject to imprisonment not exceeding 15 years or a fine not exceeding $15,000 or both.
(iii)   If the value of all money, goods, services, and other things of value obtained in violation of this section is $100,000 or more, a person who violates this section is guilty of a felony and on conviction is subject to imprisonment not exceeding 25 years or a fine not exceeding $25,000 or both.
(2)   Except as provided in paragraph (3) of this subsection, if the value of all money, goods, services, and other things of value obtained in violation of this section is less than $1,000, a person who violates this section is guilty of a misdemeanor and on conviction is subject to imprisonment not exceeding 18 months or a fine not exceeding $500 or both.
(3)   If the value of all money, goods, services, and other things of value obtained in violation of this section does not exceed $100, a person who violates this section is guilty of a misdemeanor and on conviction is subject to imprisonment not exceeding 90 days or a fine not exceeding $500 or both.
8–206.     ** TAKES EFFECT OCTOBER 1, 2017 PER CHAPTER 515 OF 2016 **
(a)   A person may not for the purpose of obtaining money, goods, services, or anything of value, and with the intent to defraud another, use:
(1)   a credit card obtained or retained in violation of § 8–204 or § 8–205 of this subtitle; or
(2)   a credit card that the person knows is counterfeit.
(b)   A person may not, with the intent to defraud another, obtain money, goods, services, or anything of value by representing:
(1)   without the consent of the cardholder, that the person is the holder of a specified credit card; or
(2)   that the person is the holder of a credit card when the credit card had not been issued.
(c)    (1)    (i)   If the value of all money, goods, services, and other things of value obtained in violation of this section is at least $1,500 but less than $25,000, a person who violates this section is guilty of a felony and on conviction is subject to imprisonment not exceeding 5 years or a fine not exceeding $10,000 or both.
(ii)   If the value of all money, goods, services, and other things of value obtained in violation of this section is at least $25,000 but less than $100,000, a person who violates this section is guilty of a felony and on conviction is subject to imprisonment not exceeding 10 years or a fine not exceeding $15,000 or both.
(iii)   If the value of all money, goods, services, and other things of value obtained in violation of this section is $100,000 or more, a person who violates this section is guilty of a felony and on conviction is subject to imprisonment not exceeding 20 years or a fine not exceeding $25,000 or both.
(2)   Except as provided in paragraph (3) of this subsection, if the value of all money, goods, services, and other things of value obtained in violation of this section is at least $100 but less than $1,500, a person who violates this section is guilty of a misdemeanor and on conviction is subject to imprisonment not exceeding 1 year or a fine not exceeding $500 or both.
(3)   If the value of all money, goods, services, and other things of value obtained in violation of this section is less than $100, a person who violates this section is guilty of a misdemeanor and on conviction is subject to imprisonment not exceeding 90 days or a fine not exceeding $500 or both.