About Statutes

This page accesses the Code of Maryland (Statutes) and the Maryland Municipal Charters and Resolutions as compiled and maintained by the Department of Legislative Services.

The Code is arranged by and organized into “Articles” (e.g. Transportation Article), which are further subdivided into “titles”, “subtitles”, “sections”, “subsections”, “paragraphs”, subparagraphs”, etc.

Note that the “official” compilation of the laws (Chapters) enacted at each session of the General Assembly is published by the State as the “Laws of Maryland”, commonly referred to as the “Session Laws”. The Session Laws for each session are compiled chronologically by chapter number and serve as the source law from which the statutes accessed here are derived.

While the “Laws of Maryland” (Session Laws) constitute the official laws of the State, this Code and the annotated versions noted below are accepted as “evidence” of the law in all State courts and by all public offices and officials (See § 10-201 of the Courts & Judicial Proceedings Article). However, in the event of a conflict between the Code and the Session Laws, the Session Laws prevail.

Note: Annotated versions of the Code, published by LexisNexis and West, are available in book and online formats. These Annotated Codes include references to case law, related citations, and explanatory notations.

The Municipal Charters are updated each year by incorporating all charter resolutions received by the Department through May 31 of that year. Individual Municipal Resolutions are published to the General Assembly website as they are received by the Department.



Statute Text

ati387166.tmp
Article - Health - General
§18–907.  
(a)    (1)   A person may not knowingly and willfully fail to comply with any order, regulation, or directive issued in accordance with § 18-905 of this subtitle.
(2)   A person who violates paragraph (1) of this subsection is guilty of a misdemeanor and on conviction is subject to imprisonment not exceeding 1 year or a fine not exceeding $3,000 or both.
(b)   If a health care facility fails to comply with an order, regulation, or directive issued under § 18-903 or § 18-904 of this subtitle, the Secretary may impose a civil penalty not to exceed $3,000 for each offense.
(c)   If a health care practitioner fails to comply with an order, regulation, or directive issued under § 18-903 or § 18-904 of this subtitle, the Secretary may request the appropriate licensing board to take disciplinary action against the health care practitioner, including:
(1)   Placing the licensee or certificate holder on probation;
(2)   Suspending or revoking the license or certificate holder; or
(3)   Imposing a civil penalty not to exceed $3,000 for each offense.
(d)   A health care provider acting in good faith and in accordance with a catastrophic health emergency disease surveillance and response program is immune from civil or criminal liability related to those actions, unless the health care provider acts with willful misconduct.