About Statutes

This page accesses the Code of Maryland (Statutes) and the Maryland Municipal Charters and Resolutions as compiled and maintained by the Department of Legislative Services.

The Code is arranged by and organized into “Articles” (e.g. Transportation Article), which are further subdivided into “titles”, “subtitles”, “sections”, “subsections”, “paragraphs”, subparagraphs”, etc.

Note that the “official” compilation of the laws (Chapters) enacted at each session of the General Assembly is published by the State as the “Laws of Maryland”, commonly referred to as the “Session Laws”. The Session Laws for each session are compiled chronologically by chapter number and serve as the source law from which the statutes accessed here are derived.

While the “Laws of Maryland” (Session Laws) constitute the official laws of the State, this Code and the annotated versions noted below are accepted as “evidence” of the law in all State courts and by all public offices and officials (See § 10-201 of the Courts & Judicial Proceedings Article). However, in the event of a conflict between the Code and the Session Laws, the Session Laws prevail.

Note: Annotated versions of the Code, published by LexisNexis and West, are available in book and online formats. These Annotated Codes include references to case law, related citations, and explanatory notations.

The Municipal Charters are updated each year by incorporating all charter resolutions received by the Department through May 31 of that year. Individual Municipal Resolutions are published to the General Assembly website as they are received by the Department.



Statute Text

ati399982.tmp
Article - Labor and Employment
§9–704.  
(a)   This section does not apply to a compensable hernia.
(b)   If a covered employee is injured or dies due to an accidental personal injury, oral or written notice shall be given to the employer:
(1)   for injury, within 10 days after the accidental personal injury; or
(2)   for death, within 30 days after the death.
(c)   If the notice given under subsection (b) of this section is in writing, the notice shall:
(1)   state the name and address of the covered employee;
(2)   state, in plain language, the time, place, nature, and cause of the accidental personal injury; and
(3)   be signed:
(i)   for injury, by the covered employee or by an individual on behalf of the covered employee; or
(ii)   for death, by at least 1 dependent of the covered employee or by an individual on behalf of the dependents of the covered employee.
(d)   Unless excused by the Commission under § 9-706 of this subtitle, failure to give notice bars a claim under this title.