About Statutes

This page accesses the Code of Maryland (Statutes) and the Maryland Municipal Charters and Resolutions as compiled and maintained by the Department of Legislative Services.

The Code is arranged by and organized into “Articles” (e.g. Transportation Article), which are further subdivided into “titles”, “subtitles”, “sections”, “subsections”, “paragraphs”, subparagraphs”, etc.

Note that the “official” compilation of the laws (Chapters) enacted at each session of the General Assembly is published by the State as the “Laws of Maryland”, commonly referred to as the “Session Laws”. The Session Laws for each session are compiled chronologically by chapter number and serve as the source law from which the statutes accessed here are derived.

While the “Laws of Maryland” (Session Laws) constitute the official laws of the State, this Code and the annotated versions noted below are accepted as “evidence” of the law in all State courts and by all public offices and officials (See § 10-201 of the Courts & Judicial Proceedings Article). However, in the event of a conflict between the Code and the Session Laws, the Session Laws prevail.

Note: Annotated versions of the Code, published by LexisNexis and West, are available in book and online formats. These Annotated Codes include references to case law, related citations, and explanatory notations.

The Municipal Charters are updated each year by incorporating all charter resolutions received by the Department through May 31 of that year. Individual Municipal Resolutions are published to the General Assembly website as they are received by the Department.



Statute Text

ati278514.tmp
Article - State Government
§9–2009.  
(a)    (1)   In this section the following words have the meanings indicated.
(2)   “Electric vehicle recharging equipment rebate” means a rebate issued by the Administration under this section for the cost of qualified electric vehicle recharging equipment.
(3)   “Qualified electric vehicle recharging equipment” means property in the State that is used for recharging motor vehicles propelled by electricity.
(4)   “Retail service station dealer” has the meaning stated in § 10–101 of the Business Regulation Article.
(b)    (1)   There is an Electric Vehicle Recharging Equipment Rebate Program.
(2)   The Administration shall administer the Program.
(c)    (1)   For fiscal years 2015 through 2017, subject to the provisions of this section, an individual, a business entity, or a unit of State or local government may apply to the Administration for an electric vehicle recharging equipment rebate for the costs of acquiring and installing qualified electric vehicle recharging equipment.
(2)   For each fiscal year, the total amount of rebates issued by the Administration may not exceed $600,000.
(3)   The Administration may allow an applicant to include reasonable installation costs in the cost of qualified electric vehicle recharging equipment for the purpose of calculating the amount of an electric vehicle recharging equipment rebate.
(d)   Subject to subsection (e) of this section, the Administration may issue an electric vehicle recharging equipment rebate to:
(1)   an individual in an amount equal to the lesser of:
(i)   50% of the costs of acquiring and installing qualified electric vehicle recharging equipment; or
(ii)   $900;
(2)   except as provided in item (3) of this subsection, a business entity or unit of State or local government in an amount equal to the lesser of:
(i)   50% of the costs of acquiring and installing qualified electric vehicle recharging equipment; or
(ii)   $5,000; or
(3)   a retail service station dealer in an amount equal to the lesser of:
(i)   50% of the costs of acquiring and installing qualified electric vehicle recharging equipment; or
(ii)   $7,500.
(e)   An electric vehicle recharging equipment rebate issued under this section is limited to the acquisition of one recharging system per individual.
(f)    (1)   The Administration may adopt regulations to carry out this section.
(2)   The regulations adopted under this subsection may include:
(i)   further limitations on the maximum amount of an electric vehicle recharging equipment rebate that may be claimed by an applicant under subsection (d) of this section;
(ii)   a requirement that an applicant demonstrate compliance with a State, local, or federal law that applies to the installation or operation of the qualified electric vehicle recharging equipment; and
(iii)   any additional application and qualification requirements deemed appropriate by the Administration.