About Statutes

This page accesses the Code of Maryland (Statutes) and the Maryland Municipal Charters and Resolutions as compiled and maintained by the Department of Legislative Services.

The Code is arranged by and organized into “Articles” (e.g. Transportation Article), which are further subdivided into “titles”, “subtitles”, “sections”, “subsections”, “paragraphs”, subparagraphs”, etc.

Note that the “official” compilation of the laws (Chapters) enacted at each session of the General Assembly is published by the State as the “Laws of Maryland”, commonly referred to as the “Session Laws”. The Session Laws for each session are compiled chronologically by chapter number and serve as the source law from which the statutes accessed here are derived.

While the “Laws of Maryland” (Session Laws) constitute the official laws of the State, this Code and the annotated versions noted below are accepted as “evidence” of the law in all State courts and by all public offices and officials (See § 10-201 of the Courts & Judicial Proceedings Article). However, in the event of a conflict between the Code and the Session Laws, the Session Laws prevail.

Note: Annotated versions of the Code, published by LexisNexis and West, are available in book and online formats. These Annotated Codes include references to case law, related citations, and explanatory notations.

The Municipal Charters are updated each year by incorporating all charter resolutions received by the Department through May 31 of that year. Individual Municipal Resolutions are published to the General Assembly website as they are received by the Department.

Statute Text

Article - Alcoholic Beverages
(a)   There is a Class 7 limited beer wholesaler’s license.
(b)   The license may be issued only to a person that:
(1)   holds a Class 5 manufacturer’s license, a Class 7 micro–brewery license, or a Class 8 farm brewery license; and
(2)   produces in the aggregate from all of its locations not more than 22,500 barrels of beer annually.
(c)   The license authorizes the license holder to:
(1)   sell and deliver its own beer produced at the license holder’s premises to:
(i)   a holder of a retail license that is authorized to acquire beer from a wholesaler; and
(ii)   a holder of a permit that is authorized to acquire beer from a wholesaler; and
(2)   distribute not more than 3,000 barrels of its own beer annually.
(d)   The annual license fee is $50.
(e)   The license holder may use an additional location for the warehousing, sale, and delivery of beer:
(1)   if approved by the Comptroller following submission of a separate application for each location; and
(2)   on the payment of a $50 fee for each additional location.