About Statutes

This page accesses the Code of Maryland (Statutes) and the Maryland Municipal Charters and Resolutions as compiled and maintained by the Department of Legislative Services.

The Code is arranged by and organized into “Articles” (e.g. Transportation Article), which are further subdivided into “titles”, “subtitles”, “sections”, “subsections”, “paragraphs”, subparagraphs”, etc.

Note that the “official” compilation of the laws (Chapters) enacted at each session of the General Assembly is published by the State as the “Laws of Maryland”, commonly referred to as the “Session Laws”. The Session Laws for each session are compiled chronologically by chapter number and serve as the source law from which the statutes accessed here are derived.

While the “Laws of Maryland” (Session Laws) constitute the official laws of the State, this Code and the annotated versions noted below are accepted as “evidence” of the law in all State courts and by all public offices and officials (See § 10-201 of the Courts & Judicial Proceedings Article). However, in the event of a conflict between the Code and the Session Laws, the Session Laws prevail.

Note: Annotated versions of the Code, published by LexisNexis and West, are available in book and online formats. These Annotated Codes include references to case law, related citations, and explanatory notations.

The Municipal Charters are updated each year by incorporating all charter resolutions received by the Department through May 31 of that year. Individual Municipal Resolutions are published to the General Assembly website as they are received by the Department.



Statute Text

ati490712.tmp
Article - Alcoholic Beverages
§26–1011.   
(a)   There is a Class C (fraternal/sororal/service organization) beer, wine, and liquor license.
(b)   The Board may issue the license for use by a local unit of a lodge or chapter of a nonprofit and nationwide fraternal, sororal, or service organization that:
(1)   is composed solely of inducted members;
(2)   was operating in the county before the license application was made;
(3)   has at least 100 members paying dues of at least $5 per year per member; and
(4)   owns or operates a home or clubhouse that is principally for the use of its members and guests when accompanied by members.
(c)    (1)   The license authorizes the license holder to sell beer, wine, and liquor for on–premises consumption by a member or guest accompanied by a member.
(2)   The license holder may allow a person that has leased a private room or other area of the licensed premises for a private social gathering to bring beer, wine, and liquor onto the licensed premises for on–premises consumption.
(d)   The license holder may sell beer, wine, and liquor during the hours and days as set out for a Class C beer, wine, and liquor license under § 26–2004 of this title, except that restrictions on the sale of alcoholic beverages on Sunday do not apply.
(e)   The annual license fee is $910.