About Statutes

This page accesses the Code of Maryland (Statutes) and the Maryland Municipal Charters and Resolutions as compiled and maintained by the Department of Legislative Services.

The Code is arranged by and organized into “Articles” (e.g. Transportation Article), which are further subdivided into “titles”, “subtitles”, “sections”, “subsections”, “paragraphs”, subparagraphs”, etc.

Note that the “official” compilation of the laws (Chapters) enacted at each session of the General Assembly is published by the State as the “Laws of Maryland”, commonly referred to as the “Session Laws”. The Session Laws for each session are compiled chronologically by chapter number and serve as the source law from which the statutes accessed here are derived.

While the “Laws of Maryland” (Session Laws) constitute the official laws of the State, this Code and the annotated versions noted below are accepted as “evidence” of the law in all State courts and by all public offices and officials (See § 10-201 of the Courts & Judicial Proceedings Article). However, in the event of a conflict between the Code and the Session Laws, the Session Laws prevail.

Note: Annotated versions of the Code, published by LexisNexis and West, are available in book and online formats. These Annotated Codes include references to case law, related citations, and explanatory notations.

The Municipal Charters are updated each year by incorporating all charter resolutions received by the Department through May 31 of that year. Individual Municipal Resolutions are published to the General Assembly website as they are received by the Department.



Statute Text

ati534472.tmp
Article - Education
§18–19A–04.1.  
(a)   For investment accounts established after December 31, 2016, a State contribution may be made to an investment account as provided in this section if:
(1)   The qualified beneficiary of the investment account is a Maryland resident;
(2)   The account holder submits an application to the Board or its designee between January 1 and June 1 of each year; and
(3)   The account holder has Maryland taxable income no greater than $112,500 for an individual or $175,000 for a married couple filing a joint return in the previous taxable year.
(b)    (1)   An application may be made in person, online, or by mail.
(2)   The Board shall:
(i)   Establish a list of documentation that must be submitted with the application, including documents that establish Maryland taxable income and Maryland residency;
(ii)   A procedure to certify the date and time of receipt of an application; and
(iii)   Any other necessary procedures for the submittal of applications.
(c)    (1)   For an account holder with Maryland taxable income of less than $50,000 for an individual or $75,000 for a married couple filing a joint return who makes an annual contribution of at least $25 per beneficiary, the State shall provide an additional $250 per beneficiary.
(2)   For an account holder with Maryland taxable income of at least $50,000 but less than $87,500 for an individual or at least $75,000 but less than $125,000 for a married couple filing a joint return who makes an annual contribution of at least $100 per beneficiary, the State shall provide an additional $250 per beneficiary.
(3)   For an account holder with Maryland taxable income of at least $87,500 but no greater than $112,500 for an individual or at least $125,000 but no greater than $175,000 for a married couple filing a joint return who makes an annual contribution of at least $250 per beneficiary, the State shall provide an additional $250 per beneficiary.
(d)    (1)   The Governor shall appropriate in the budget bill at least the following amounts for State contributions:
(i)   $5,000,000 in fiscal year 2018;
(ii)   $7,000,000 in fiscal year 2019; and
(iii)   $10,000,000 in fiscal year 2020 and each fiscal year thereafter.
(2)   If the funding provided in a fiscal year is not sufficient to fully fund all State contributions authorized under this section, the Board shall:
(i)   Provide contributions in the order in which applications are received; and
(ii)   Give priority to applications of account holders who did not receive a contribution in any prior year.
(e)    (1)   An account holder who has been approved to receive a State contribution shall make a contribution between July 1 and November 1 of each year in order to qualify for the State contribution.
(2)   A State contribution shall be made by December 31 of the calendar year in which the account holder made the contribution.
(f)   An account holder is not eligible for the subtraction modification under § 10–208 of the Tax – General Article for any taxable year in which the account holder receives a State contribution.
(g)   The Board shall develop and implement by September 1, 2016, an outreach and marketing plan to provide notification to individuals about the availability of a State contribution.