About Statutes

This page accesses the Code of Maryland (Statutes) and the Maryland Municipal Charters and Resolutions as compiled and maintained by the Department of Legislative Services.

The Code is arranged by and organized into “Articles” (e.g. Transportation Article), which are further subdivided into “titles”, “subtitles”, “sections”, “subsections”, “paragraphs”, subparagraphs”, etc.

Note that the “official” compilation of the laws (Chapters) enacted at each session of the General Assembly is published by the State as the “Laws of Maryland”, commonly referred to as the “Session Laws”. The Session Laws for each session are compiled chronologically by chapter number and serve as the source law from which the statutes accessed here are derived.

While the “Laws of Maryland” (Session Laws) constitute the official laws of the State, this Code and the annotated versions noted below are accepted as “evidence” of the law in all State courts and by all public offices and officials (See § 10-201 of the Courts & Judicial Proceedings Article). However, in the event of a conflict between the Code and the Session Laws, the Session Laws prevail.

Note: Annotated versions of the Code, published by LexisNexis and West, are available in book and online formats. These Annotated Codes include references to case law, related citations, and explanatory notations.

The Municipal Charters are updated each year by incorporating all charter resolutions received by the Department through May 31 of that year. Individual Municipal Resolutions are published to the General Assembly website as they are received by the Department.



Statute Text

ati530820.tmp
Article - Education
§6–306.     IN EFFECT
(a)    (1)   In this section the following words have the meanings indicated.
(2)   “County grant for national certification” means an annual grant distributed to a teacher certified by the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards established:
(i)   Outside of the collective bargaining process; or
(ii)   As part of a collective bargaining agreement with the local employee organization.
(3)   “School–based employee” means a certificated employee who works directly with students or teachers at a public school.
(b)    (1)   For fiscal year 2000 and each subsequent fiscal year, the Governor shall include in each year’s operating budget funding for the stipends and bonuses provided in this subsection.
(2)   A classroom teacher or other nonadministrative school–based employee in a public school identified by the State Board as having comprehensive needs who holds a standard professional certificate or an advanced professional certificate who is employed by a county board and who holds a certificate issued by the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards shall receive a stipend from the State in an amount equal to the county grant for national certification, up to a maximum of:
(i)   For fiscal year 2018, $2,000 per qualified individual; and
(ii)   For fiscal year 2019 and each fiscal year thereafter, $4,000 per qualified individual.
(3)   A classroom teacher or other nonadministrative school–based employee in a school not identified by the State Board as having comprehensive needs who holds a standard professional certificate or an advanced professional certificate who is employed by a county board and who holds a certificate issued by the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards shall receive a stipend from the State in an amount equal to the county grant for national certification, up to a maximum of $1,000 per qualified individual.
(4)   To the maximum extent practicable, each public school shall utilize teachers who have obtained National Board Certification in leadership roles within the school.
(5)    (i)    1.   The State Board shall establish a program to support locally negotiated incentives, governed under Subtitles 4 and 5 of this title, for highly effective classroom teachers and principals to work in public schools that are:
A.    In improvement, corrective action, or restructuring;
B.    Categorized by the local school system as a Title I school; or
C.    In the highest 25% of schools in the State based on a ranking of the percentage of students who receive free and reduced priced meals.
2.   The program established under subsubparagraph 1 of this subparagraph may include financial incentives, leadership changes, or other incentives.
(ii)    1.   The State Board shall adopt guidelines to implement this paragraph.
2.   Nothing in this paragraph shall be construed to prohibit a local school system from employing more stringent standards than the guidelines adopted under this subparagraph.
(c)    (1)   This subsection applies only in Anne Arundel County.
(2)   In this subsection, “county grant for teaching in an economically disadvantaged school” means an annual grant distributed to a teacher who teaches in an economically disadvantaged school established:
(i)   Outside of the collective bargaining process; or
(ii)   As part of a collective bargaining agreement with the local employee representative.
(3)   For fiscal years 2017 through 2019, the Governor shall include in the State operating budget funding for the stipends provided in this subsection.
(4)    (i)   Except as provided in subparagraph (ii) of this paragraph, a classroom teacher shall receive a stipend from the State in an amount equal to the county grant for teaching in an economically disadvantaged school, up to a maximum of $1,500 if the teacher:
1.   Teaches in a public middle or high school in which at least 30% of the students as a percentage of full–time equivalent students as defined in § 5–202 of this article qualify for free and reduced price meals under the National School Lunch Program;
2.   Holds a standard or advanced professional certificate; and
3.   Is employed by the county board.
(ii)   For fiscal year 2018, the maximum stipend a teacher may receive under subparagraph (i) of this paragraph is $750.
(d)   An individual who receives a stipend or bonus under subsection (b) or (c) of this section may not be deemed an employee of the State.
(e)   The employer of an individual who receives a stipend or bonus under subsection (b) or (c) of this section shall pay the increase in fringe benefit costs associated with the stipend or bonus.
(f)   The Department shall act as fiscal agent for funds disbursed under this section.
6–306.     // EFFECTIVE JUNE 30, 2019 PER CHAPTER 740 OF 2016 //
(a)    (1)   In this section the following words have the meanings indicated.
(2)   “County grant for national certification” means an annual grant distributed to a teacher certified by the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards established:
(i)   Outside of the collective bargaining process; or
(ii)   As part of a collective bargaining agreement with the local employee organization.
(3)   “School–based employee” means a certificated employee who works directly with students or teachers at a public school.
(b)    (1)   For fiscal year 2000 and each subsequent fiscal year, the Governor shall include in each year’s operating budget funding for the stipends and bonuses provided in this subsection.
(2)   A classroom teacher or other nonadministrative school–based employee in a public school identified by the State Board as having comprehensive needs who holds a standard professional certificate or an advanced professional certificate who is employed by a county board and who holds a certificate issued by the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards shall receive a stipend from the State in an amount equal to the county grant for national certification, up to a maximum of:
(i)   For fiscal year 2018, $2,000 per qualified individual; and
(ii)   For fiscal year 2019 and each fiscal year thereafter, $4,000 per qualified individual.
(3)   A classroom teacher or other nonadministrative school–based employee in a school not identified by the State Board as having comprehensive needs who holds a standard professional certificate or an advanced professional certificate who is employed by a county board and who holds a certificate issued by the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards shall receive a stipend from the State in an amount equal to the county grant for national certification, up to a maximum of $1,000 per qualified individual.
(4)   To the maximum extent practicable, each public school shall utilize teachers who have obtained National Board Certification in leadership roles within the school.
(5)    (i)    1.   The State Board shall establish a program to support locally negotiated incentives, governed under Subtitles 4 and 5 of this title, for highly effective classroom teachers and principals to work in public schools that are:
A.    In improvement, corrective action, or restructuring;
B.    Categorized by the local school system as a Title I school; or
C.    In the highest 25% of schools in the State based on a ranking of the percentage of students who receive free and reduced priced meals.
2.   The program established under subsubparagraph 1 of this subparagraph may include financial incentives, leadership changes, or other incentives.
(ii)    1.   The State Board shall adopt guidelines to implement this paragraph.
2.   Nothing in this paragraph shall be construed to prohibit a local school system from employing more stringent standards than the guidelines adopted under this subparagraph.
(c)   An individual who receives a stipend or bonus under subsection (b) of this section may not be deemed an employee of the State.
(d)   The employer of an individual who receives a stipend or bonus under subsection (b) of this section shall pay the increase in fringe benefit costs associated with the stipend or bonus.
(e)   The Department shall act as fiscal agent for funds disbursed under this section.