About Statutes

This page accesses the Code of Maryland (Statutes) and the Maryland Municipal Charters and Resolutions as compiled and maintained by the Department of Legislative Services.

The Code is arranged by and organized into “Articles” (e.g. Transportation Article), which are further subdivided into “titles”, “subtitles”, “sections”, “subsections”, “paragraphs”, subparagraphs”, etc.

Note that the “official” compilation of the laws (Chapters) enacted at each session of the General Assembly is published by the State as the “Laws of Maryland”, commonly referred to as the “Session Laws”. The Session Laws for each session are compiled chronologically by chapter number and serve as the source law from which the statutes accessed here are derived.

While the “Laws of Maryland” (Session Laws) constitute the official laws of the State, this Code and the annotated versions noted below are accepted as “evidence” of the law in all State courts and by all public offices and officials (See § 10-201 of the Courts & Judicial Proceedings Article). However, in the event of a conflict between the Code and the Session Laws, the Session Laws prevail.

Note: Annotated versions of the Code, published by LexisNexis and West, are available in book and online formats. These Annotated Codes include references to case law, related citations, and explanatory notations.

The Municipal Charters are updated each year by incorporating all charter resolutions received by the Department through May 31 of that year. Individual Municipal Resolutions are published to the General Assembly website as they are received by the Department.



Statute Text

ati551792.tmp
Article - Financial Institutions
§12–928.  
(a)    (1)   The Commissioner may enforce the provisions of this subtitle and regulations adopted under this subtitle by:
(i)   Issuing an order requiring the violator:
1.   To cease and desist from the violation and any further similar violations; and
2.   To take affirmative action to correct the violation, including the restitution of money or property to any person aggrieved by the violation; and
(ii)   Imposing a civil penalty not exceeding $1,000 for each violation.
(2)   An order issued under this subsection may apply to a licensee’s agent that violates any provision of this subtitle or the regulations adopted under this subtitle.
(3)   If a violator fails to comply with an order issued under paragraph (1)(i) of this subsection, the Commissioner may impose a civil penalty not exceeding $1,000 for each violation from which the violator failed to cease and desist or for which the violator failed to take corrective affirmative action.
(b)   The Commissioner may file a petition in the circuit court for any county seeking enforcement of an order issued under this section.
(c)   In determining the amount of financial penalty to be imposed under subsection (a) of this section, the Commissioner shall consider the following:
(1)   The seriousness of the violation;
(2)   The good faith of the violator;
(3)   The violator’s history of previous violations;
(4)   The deleterious effect of the violation on the public;
(5)   The assets of the violator; and
(6)   Any other factors relevant to the determination of the financial penalty.