Chapter 691

(House Bill 1017)

AN ACT concerning

Boundary of the Frederick County Soil Conservation District - Alteration

FOR the purpose of altering the boundary of establishing the Frederick County Soil Conservation District to include the Catoctin Soil Conservation District and the Frederick Soil Conservation District; and generally relating to the Frederick County Soil Conservation District.

BY repealing and reenacting, with amendments,

Article – Agriculture

Section 8-301 and 8-405(c)

Annotated Code of Maryland

(2016 Replacement Volume and 2023 Supplement)

SECTION 1. BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF MARYLAND, That the Laws of Maryland read as follows:

Article - Agriculture

8-301.

- (a) The [24] 23 soil conservation districts are established and continued with boundaries corresponding to county boundaries [, except for Frederick County,] and include all land and water and incorporated areas, as follows:
 - (1) Allegany Soil Conservation District;
 - (2) Anne Arundel Soil Conservation District:
 - (3) Baltimore County Soil Conservation District;
 - (4) Calvert Soil Conservation District;
 - (5) Caroline Soil Conservation District;
 - (6) Carroll Soil Conservation District;
 - (7) Cecil Soil Conservation District;
 - (8) Charles Soil Conservation District;

2024 LAWS OF MARYLAND

- (9) Dorchester Soil Conservation District;
- (10) Frederick County Soil Conservation District;
- (11) Garrett Soil Conservation District;
- [(11)] (12) Harford Soil Conservation District;
- [(12)] (13) Howard Soil Conservation District;
- [(13)] (14) Kent Soil Conservation District;
- [(14)] (15) Montgomery Soil Conservation District;
- [(15)] (16) Prince George's Soil Conservation District;
- [(16)] (17) Queen Anne's Soil Conservation District;
- [(17)] (18) St. Mary's Soil Conservation District;
- [(18)] (19) Somerset Soil Conservation District;
- [(19)] (20) Talbot Soil Conservation District;
- [(20)] (21) Washington County Soil Conservation District;
- [(21)] (22) Wicomico Soil Conservation District; AND
- [(22)] (23) Worcester Soil Conservation District[;
- (23) Catoctin Soil Conservation District within the area of Frederick County bounded by the Washington–Frederick County line, the Potomac River, and the eastern and northern boundaries of the Catoctin Creek watershed: and
- (24) The Frederick Soil Conservation District comprising the balance of Frederick County land and water area].
- (b) A Baltimore City Soil Conservation District may be established and continued with boundaries corresponding to the boundaries of Baltimore City.

8-405.

(c) (1) The Governor shall include in the annual budget bill an amount sufficient to employ not less than 110 field personnel in the soil conservation districts under this title.

- (2) The appropriation for the **[24] 23** soil conservation districts shall be as follows:
 - (i) For fiscal year 2008, \$8,800,000;
 - (ii) For fiscal year 2009, \$9,200,000;
 - (iii) For fiscal year 2010, \$9,600,000; and
 - (iv) For fiscal year 2011 and each fiscal year thereafter, \$10,000,000.

SECTION 2. AND BE IT FURTHER ENACTED, That this Act shall take effect October 1, 2024.

Approved by the Governor, May 9, 2024.