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Finance

Consumer Protection - Credit or Debit Card Surcharges - Limitation

This bill prohibits a retail business in the State from charging a consumer a surcharge for
the use of a credit card or a debit card as payment in excess of the amount that the retail
business is charged for processing the transaction. Violation of the bill is an unfair, abusive,
or deceptive trade practice under the Maryland Consumer Protection Act (MCPA), subject
to MCPA’s civil and criminal penalty provisions.

Fiscal Summary

State Effect: The bill’s imposition of existing penalty provisions does not have a material
Impact on State finances or operations. The Office of the Attorney General, Consumer
Protection Division, can handle the bill’s requirements with existing resources.

Local Effect: The bill’s imposition of existing penalty provisions does not have a material
impact on local government finances or operations.

Small Business Effect: Minimal.

Analysis

Current Law: An unfair, abusive, or deceptive trade practice under MCPA includes,
among other acts, any false, falsely disparaging, or misleading oral or written statement,
visual description, or other representation of any kind which has the capacity, tendency, or
effect of deceiving or misleading consumers. The prohibition against engaging in any
unfair, abusive, or deceptive trade practice encompasses the offer for or actual sale, lease,
rental, loan, or bailment of any consumer goods, consumer realty, or consumer services;
the extension of consumer credit; the collection of consumer debt; or the offer for or actual



purchase of consumer goods or consumer realty from a consumer by a merchant whose
business includes paying off consumer debt in connection with the purchase of any
consumer goods or consumer realty from a consumer.

The Consumer Protection Division is responsible for enforcing MCPA and investigating
the complaints of aggrieved consumers. The division may attempt to conciliate the matter,
issue a cease and desist order, or file a civil action in court. A merchant who violates MCPA
is subject to a fine of up to $10,000 for each violation and up to $25,000 for each repetition
of the same violation. In addition to any civil penalties that may be imposed, any person
who violates MCPA is guilty of a misdemeanor and, on conviction, is subject to a fine of
up to $1,000 and/or imprisonment for up to one year.

Additional Comments: Credit card networks (e.g., Visa, Mastercard, American Express,
Discover) maintain their own rules that merchants must follow when setting surcharges.
For example, both Visa and Mastercard cap the fees that a merchant may charge in relation
to cost to process the payment. According to Visa, as of April 2023, several states prohibit
surcharging (including Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, and Oklahoma), while
merchants in Colorado may not impose a surcharge of more than 2%. Federal law
establishes specific requirements for debit card transactions.

Additional Information

Recent Prior Introductions: Similar legislation has not been introduced within the last
three years.

Designated Cross File: None.

Information Source(s): Office of the Attorney General (Consumer Protection Division);
Federal Reserve; Visa; Mastercard; Department of Legislative Services
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https://usa.visa.com/dam/VCOM/download/merchants/surcharging-faq-by-merchants.pdf
https://www.mastercard.us/en-us/business/overview/support/merchant-surcharge-rules.html
https://www.federalreserve.gov/newsevents/pressreleases/bcreg20231025a.htm
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