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Regulated Firearms - Maryland Judiciary - Reporting Requirements 
 

 

This bill repeals the requirement for the Maryland State Commission on Criminal 

Sentencing Policy (MSCCSP) to report to the Governor and the General Assembly, by 

October 1, 2024, and each October thereafter, on the number of charges, convictions, and 

sentences for violations of § 4-203 of the Criminal Law Article (wearing, carrying, or 

transporting handgun) and § 5-133(d) of the Public Safety Article (restrictions on 

possession of regulated firearms) and instead requires the Maryland Judiciary, by  

October 1, 2024, and each October thereafter, to report that same information. The bill 

takes effect June 1, 2024. 
 

 

Fiscal Summary 
 

State Effect:  The Judiciary can handle the bill’s reporting requirements with existing 

budgeted resources. Revenues are not affected. 

  

Local Effect:  Local government operations and finances are not anticipated to be 

materially affected. 

 

Small Business Effect:  None. 

 

 

Analysis 
 

Current Law: 
 

Required Report:  Chapter 651 of 2023 requires MSCCSP, by October 1, 2024, and each 

October thereafter, to report to the Governor and the General Assembly on the number of 

charges, convictions, and sentences for violations of § 4-203 of the Criminal Law Article 
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(wearing, carrying, or transporting handgun) and § 5-133(d) of the Public Safety Article 

(restrictions on possession of regulated firearms). 

 

Prohibitions on Wearing, Carrying, or Transporting a Handgun Under § 4-203 of the 

Criminal Law Article:  With specified exceptions, including possession of a handgun 

permit, a person may not (1) wear, carry, or transport a handgun, whether concealed or 

open, on or about the person; (2) wear, carry, or knowingly transport a handgun, whether 

concealed or open, in a vehicle traveling on a road or parking lot generally used by the 

public, highway, waterway, or airway of the State; (3) violate items (1) or (2) listed above 

while on public school property in the State; (4) violate items (1) or (2) listed above with 

the deliberate purpose of injuring or killing another person; or (5) violate items (1) or 

(2) listed above with a handgun loaded with ammunition. There is a rebuttable presumption 

that a person who transports a handgun does so knowingly. A violator is guilty of a 

misdemeanor and subject to the penalties listed below. The subsequent offender provisions 

apply to previous convictions under § 4-203 (wearing, carrying, or transporting a handgun), 

§ 4-204 (use of handgun or antique firearm in commission of crime), § 4-101 (dangerous 

weapons), and § 4-102 (deadly weapons on school property) of the Criminal Law Article, 

as shown in Exhibit 1. 

  



    

HB 315/ Page 3 

 

Exhibit 1 

Penalties for Specified Handgun Violations 

 
First-time Offender – No prior convictions under 

§§ 4-203, 4-204, 4-101, or 4-102 of the Criminal 

Law Article 

In General – Imprisonment for at least 30 days and 

up to 5 years and/or fine of $250 to $2,500. 

 

Offense on Public School Property – Imprisonment 

for at least 90 days. 
 

Subsequent Offender – One prior conviction under 

§§ 4-203, 4-204, 4-101, or 4-102 of the Criminal 

Law Article 

In General – Imprisonment for at least 1 year and 

up to 10 years. 

 

Offense on Public School Property – Imprisonment 

for at least 3 years and up to 10 years. 

 

Court may not impose less than the applicable 

minimum sentence. 

 

Offense with handgun loaded with ammunition – 

With required notice, court may not suspend any 

part of or impose less than the applicable mandatory 

minimum sentence. Person is not eligible for parole 

during mandatory minimum sentence.* 
 

Subsequent Offender – More than one prior 

conviction under §§ 4-203, 4-204, 4-101, or 4-102 

of the Criminal Law Article 

In General – Imprisonment for at least 3 years and 

up to 10 years. 

 

Offense on Public School Property – Imprisonment 

for at least 5 years and up to 10 years. 

 

Offense with Deliberate Purpose of Injuring or 

Killing Another Person – Imprisonment for at least 

5 years and up to 10 years. 

 

Court may not impose less than the applicable 

minimum sentence. 

 

Offense with handgun loaded with ammunition – 

With required notice, court may not suspend any 

part of or impose less than the applicable mandatory 

minimum sentence. Person is not eligible for parole 

during mandatory minimum sentence.* 
 

* Contains exception for § 4-305 of the Correctional Services Article (parole for an inmate at the Patuxent Institution). 

 
Source:  Department of Legislative Services 
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Prohibition on Possession of a Regulated Firearm Under § 5-133(d) of the Public Safety 

Article:  Generally, a person who is younger than age 21 may not possess a regulated 

firearm. However, unless a person is otherwise prohibited from possessing a regulated 

firearm, the prohibition does not apply to: 

 

 the temporary transfer or possession of a regulated firearm if the person is under the 

supervision of another who is at least age 21 and who is not prohibited by State or 

federal law from possessing a firearm and acting with the permission of the parent 

or legal guardian of the transferee or person in possession; 

 the transfer by inheritance of title, and not of possession, of a regulated firearm; 

 a member of the Armed Forces of the United States or the National Guard while 

performing official duties; 

 the temporary transfer or possession of a regulated firearm if the person is 

participating in marksmanship training of a recognized organization and under the 

supervision of a qualified instructor; 

 a person who is required to possess a regulated firearm for employment and who 

holds a handgun permit; or 

 the possession of a firearm for self–defense or the defense of others against a 

trespasser into the residence of the person in possession or into a residence in which 

the person in possession is an invited guest. 

 

 

Additional Information 
 

Recent Prior Introductions:  Similar legislation has not been introduced within the last 

three years. 

 

Designated Cross File:  SB 319 (Senator West) - Judicial Proceedings. 

 

Information Source(s):  Maryland State Commission on Criminal Sentencing Policy; 

Judiciary (Administrative Office of the Courts); Department of State Police; Department 

of Legislative Services 
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Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - January 29, 2024 

Third Reader - March 15, 2024 

 Revised - Amendment(s) - March 15, 2024 

 Revised - Clarification - March 15, 2024 

 

km/lgc 

 

Analysis by:   Shirleen M. E. Pilgrim  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 
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