Department of Legislative Services

Maryland General Assembly 2024 Session

FISCAL AND POLICY NOTE First Reader

House Bill 1345
Appropriations

(Harford County Delegation)

Higher Education - Harford Community College Board of Trustees - Alterations

This bill alters the residency requirements for members of the Harford Community College Board of Trustees. Specifically, all members must be a resident of Harford County for the duration of the member's term. The bill further requires that all members of the Harford Community College Board of Trustees be appointed from the county at large; thus it repeals existing councilmanic distribution requirements. Under the bill, the Governor must, to the extent practicable when appointing members to the board, take into consideration the geographic and ethnic representation of Harford County so that all segments of the population of the county are represented on the board. The bill also specifies that only the President of Harford Community College and the Superintendent of Harford County Public Schools must meet at least twice annually to discuss issues of mutual concern, repealing the requirement to include the Harford Community College Board of Trustees and the Harford County Board of Education in those meetings. Finally, the bill makes a technical change to alter the name of the board to be the Harford Community College Board of Trustees in statute. The bill takes effect June 1, 2024.

Fiscal Summary

State Effect: None. The bill is directed at the Harford Community College Board of Trustees.

Local Effect: None. The bill is procedural in nature and generally affords greater flexibility in representation on the board. The bill does not affect local finances.

Small Business Effect: None.

Analysis

Current Law: The Board of Trustees for Harford Community College has nine members. Each member must be a resident of Harford County and is appointed by the Governor for terms of five years (and may not serve more than two consecutive terms). Six members must be appointed so that there is one member from each councilmanic district, and the remaining three must be appointed from the county at large. No member may be a member of the Harford County Board of Education while serving on the board of trustees.

At least twice annually, the Board of Community College Trustees, the College President, the Harford County Board of Education, and the Superintendent of the Harford County Public Schools must meet to discuss issues of mutual concern.

State law generally establishes that community college boards have seven members serving staggered six-year terms, with several specified exceptions. Therefore, there are variations in the number and terms of board members. **Appendix 1 – Selected Requirements for Board Members of Community Colleges** shows characteristics of the various boards. With one exception, the boards are appointed by the Governor with the advice and consent of the Maryland Senate. For Chesapeake College, the board is appointed by the Governor with the advice and consent of the Maryland House of Delegates.

Additional Information

Recent Prior Introductions: Similar legislation has not been introduced within the last three years.

Designated Cross File: SB 737 (Harford County Senators) - Education, Energy, and the Environment.

Information Source(s): Harford County; Department of Legislative Services

Fiscal Note History: First Reader - February 23, 2024

rh/clb

Analysis by: Michael E. Sousane Direct Inquiries to:

(410) 946-5510 (301) 970-5510

Appendix 1 – Selected Requirements for Board Members of Community Colleges

Community College	Number of Members	Term Length (in Years)	Term Limits	Residency Requirements
Allegany	7	6	No Limit	None
Anne Arundel	81	4	3^2	Yes^3
Baltimore City	9^{1}	6	2^4	Some ⁵
Baltimore	15	5	2^4	See Note ⁶
Carroll	7	6	No Limit	None
Cecil	7	6	No Limit	None
Chesapeake	10	5	3	Yes ⁷
Frederick	7	5	3	Yes ⁸
Garrett	7	6	No Limit	None
Hagerstown	7	6	No Limit	Yes ⁹
Harford	9	5	2^4	$\mathrm{Yes^{10}}$
Howard	7	6	No Limit	Some ¹¹
Montgomery	$10^{1,12}$	6	No Limit	Some ¹³
Prince George's	91	5	2^4	Yes^{14}
Southern Maryland	9	5	2^4	Yes^{15}
Wor-Wic	7	6	No Limit	None

¹ The board includes a student member serving a one-year term. The student body elects the student board member in Prince George's County.

²Consecutive full terms.

³ All members must be a resident of Anne Arundel County.

⁴ Consecutive terms.

⁵ All members must be a resident of the State. The majority must be residents of Baltimore City.

⁶ Of the members, one serves at large and the other 14 serve from the seven councilmanic districts in Baltimore County, two from each district.

⁷ Two members from each county that supports Chesapeake College (Caroline, Dorchester, Kent, Queen Anne's, and Talbot).

⁸ All seven members must be a resident of Frederick County.

⁹ All members must be a resident of Washington County at the time of appointment and maintain residency in Washington County throughout their term of appointment.

¹⁰ All members must be a resident of Harford County. The Harford County board includes three at-large members and one from each of the six council districts.

Source: Annotated Code of Maryland

¹¹ Of the seven members, at least six must be residents of Howard County at the time of appointment and maintain residency in Howard County throughout the term of appointment.

¹² A local nominating committee must submit to the Governor the names of two to four candidates per vacancy, from which the Governor must appoint a new member.

¹³ The student member must be a resident of the county.

¹⁴ All members must be a resident of Prince George's County.

¹⁵ Members must be a resident of the State. Each of the southern Maryland counties must be represented by at least three members who are residents of the county.