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Criminal Procedure - Disclosure of Expunged Records - Alterations

This bill specifies that a unit, official, or employee of the State or a political subdivision of
the State may not deny a person’s application for a license, permit, registration, or
governmental service solely because the person refuses to disclose information about
criminal charges that have been expunged. The bill also prohibits an educational institution
from expelling or refusing to admit a person solely because the person refused to disclose
information about criminal charges that have been expunged. Violations are a
misdemeanor, punishable by imprisonment for up to one year and/or a $1,000 maximum
fine for each violation (the penalty for the existing prohibition).

Fiscal Summary

State Effect: The bill is not anticipated to materially affect State finances or operations.

Local Effect: The bill is not anticipated to materially affect local government finances or
operations.

Small Business Effect: Minimal.

Analysis

Current Law: The following entities may not require the disclosure of expunged
information about criminal charges in an application, interview, or other means:

° an employer or educational institution of a person who applies for employment or
admission; or



° a unit, official, or employee of the State or a political subdivision of the State of a
person who applies for a license, permit, registration, or governmental service.

A person need not refer to or give information concerning an expunged charge when
answering a question concerning a criminal charge that did not result in a conviction or a
conviction that the Governor pardoned.

Refusal by a person to disclose information about criminal charges that have been
expunged may not be the sole reason for (1) an employer to discharge or refuse to hire the
person or (2) a unit, official, or employee of the State or a political subdivision of the State
to deny the person’s application.

Violators are guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment for up to one year
and/or a $1,000 maximum fine for each violation. In addition to these penalties, an official
or employee of the State or a political subdivision of the State who is convicted of a
violation may be removed or dismissed from public service.

The bill’s provisions are similar to provisions regarding shielded records under § 10-306
of the Criminal Procedure Article. However, violations of those prohibitions are not subject
to criminal penalties.

Additional Information

Recent Prior Introductions: Similar legislation has not been introduced within the last
three years.

Designated Cross File: None.

Information Source(s): Kent, Montgomery, and Worcester counties; Judiciary
(Administrative Office of the Courts); Maryland Higher Education Commission;
University System of Maryland; Morgan State University; Maryland Independent College
and University Association; Department of Human Services; Maryland Department of
Labor; Department of Natural Resources; Department of State Police; Maryland
Department of Transportation; Maryland Department of Health; Department of Legislative
Services
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