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Health and Government Operations Finance

Health Occupations - Certified Dialysis Technicians - Continuing Education
Requirement

This bill alters the continuing education requirement for certified dialysis technicians
(CDTs) renewing their certification. The bill requires three hours of continuing education
approved by the Maryland Board of Nursing (MBON) rather than a three-hour continuing
education course approved by MBON. The bill takes effect June 1, 2024.

Fiscal Summary

State Effect: None. The change is technical in nature and does not directly affect
governmental finances.

Local Effect: None.

Small Business Effect: Minimal.

Analysis

Current Law: “Certified dialysis technician” means an individual who has completed a
MBON-approved dialysis technician program and is certified by MBON as a dialysis
technician. To qualify for certification, an applicant must (1) submit the required
application; (2) provide evidence of successful completion of an approved dialysis
technician training program; (3) pay an application fee; (4) be of good moral character; and
(5) be at least 18 years old. An applicant must also submit to a criminal history records
check.



MBON must send a renewal notice at least three months before a certificate expires. CDTs
may renew their certificate for an additional term if the CDT (1) is otherwise entitled to be
certified; (2) submits a renewal application; (3) pays the renewal fee; (4) has completed
16 hours of practice as a dialysis technician in the immediately preceding two-year period,
a three-hour MBON-approved continuing education course, or an MBON-approved
dialysis technician training program; and (5) has an active specified national certification.

Additional Information

Recent Prior Introductions: Similar legislation has not been introduced within the last
three years.

Designated Cross File: None.

Information Source(s): Maryland Department of Health; Department of Legislative
Services
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