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Judicial Proceedings Judiciary

Regulated Firearms - Maryland Judiciary - Reporting Requirements

This bill repeals the requirement for the Maryland State Commission on Criminal
Sentencing Policy (MSCCSP) to report to the Governor and the General Assembly, by
October 1, 2024, and each October thereafter, on the number of charges, convictions, and
sentences for violations of 8 4-203 of the Criminal Law Article (wearing, carrying, or
transporting handgun) and § 5-133(d) of the Public Safety Article (restrictions on
possession of regulated firearms) and instead requires the Maryland Judiciary, by
October 1, 2024, and each October thereafter, to report that same information. The bill
takes effect June 1, 2024.

Fiscal Summary

State Effect: The Judiciary can handle the bill’s reporting requirements with existing
budgeted resources. Revenues are not affected.

Local Effect: Local government operations and finances are not anticipated to be
materially affected.

Small Business Effect: None.

Analysis
Current Law:
Required Report: Chapter 651 of 2023 requires MSCCSP, by October 1, 2024, and each

October thereafter, to report to the Governor and the General Assembly on the number of
charges, convictions, and sentences for violations of § 4-203 of the Criminal Law Article



(wearing, carrying, or transporting handgun) and 8 5-133(d) of the Public Safety Article
(restrictions on possession of regulated firearms).

Prohibitions on Wearing, Carrying, or Transporting a Handgun Under § 4-203 of the
Criminal Law Article: With specified exceptions, including possession of a handgun
permit, a person may not (1) wear, carry, or transport a handgun, whether concealed or
open, on or about the person; (2) wear, carry, or knowingly transport a handgun, whether
concealed or open, in a vehicle traveling on a road or parking lot generally used by the
public, highway, waterway, or airway of the State; (3) violate items (1) or (2) listed above
while on public school property in the State; (4) violate items (1) or (2) listed above with
the deliberate purpose of injuring or Killing another person; or (5) violate items (1) or
(2) listed above with a handgun loaded with ammunition. There is a rebuttable presumption
that a person who transports a handgun does so knowingly. A violator is guilty of a
misdemeanor and subject to the penalties listed below. The subsequent offender provisions
apply to previous convictions under § 4-203 (wearing, carrying, or transporting a handgun),
8 4-204 (use of handgun or antique firearm in commission of crime), 8 4-101 (dangerous
weapons), and § 4-102 (deadly weapons on school property) of the Criminal Law Article,
as shown in Exhibit 1.
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Exhibit 1
Penalties for Specified Handgun Violations

First-time Offender — No prior convictions under
88 4-203, 4-204, 4-101, or 4-102 of the Criminal
Law Article

Subsequent Offender — One prior conviction under
8§ 4-203, 4-204, 4-101, or 4-102 of the Criminal
Law Article

Subsequent Offender — More than one prior
conviction under 88 4-203, 4-204, 4-101, or 4-102
of the Criminal Law Atrticle

In General — Imprisonment for at least 30 days and
up to 5 years and/or fine of $250 to $2,500.

Offense on Public School Property — Imprisonment
for at least 90 days.

In General — Imprisonment for at least 1 year and
up to 10 years.

Offense on Public School Property — Imprisonment
for at least 3 years and up to 10 years.

Court may not impose less than the applicable
minimum sentence.

Offense with handgun loaded with ammunition —
With required notice, court may not suspend any
part of or impose less than the applicable mandatory
minimum sentence. Person is not eligible for parole
during mandatory minimum sentence.*

In General — Imprisonment for at least 3 years and
up to 10 years.

Offense on Public School Property — Imprisonment
for at least 5 years and up to 10 years.

Offense with Deliberate Purpose of Injuring or
Killing Another Person — Imprisonment for at least
5 years and up to 10 years.

Court may not impose less than the applicable
minimum sentence.

Offense with handgun loaded with ammunition —
With required notice, court may not suspend any
part of or impose less than the applicable mandatory
minimum sentence. Person is not eligible for parole
during mandatory minimum sentence.*

* Contains exception for § 4-305 of the Correctional Services Article (parole for an inmate at the Patuxent Institution).

Source: Department of Legislative Services
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Prohibition on Possession of a Regulated Firearm Under § 5-133(d) of the Public Safety
Article: Generally, a person who is younger than age 21 may not possess a regulated
firearm. However, unless a person is otherwise prohibited from possessing a regulated
firearm, the prohibition does not apply to:

° the temporary transfer or possession of a regulated firearm if the person is under the
supervision of another who is at least age 21 and who is not prohibited by State or
federal law from possessing a firearm and acting with the permission of the parent
or legal guardian of the transferee or person in possession;

° the transfer by inheritance of title, and not of possession, of a regulated firearm;

° a member of the Armed Forces of the United States or the National Guard while
performing official duties;

° the temporary transfer or possession of a regulated firearm if the person is

participating in marksmanship training of a recognized organization and under the
supervision of a qualified instructor;

° a person who is required to possess a regulated firearm for employment and who
holds a handgun permit; or
° the possession of a firearm for self-defense or the defense of others against a

trespasser into the residence of the person in possession or into a residence in which
the person in possession is an invited guest.

Additional Information

Recent Prior Introductions: Similar legislation has not been introduced within the last
three years.

Designated Cross File: HB 315 (Delegate Bartlett) - Judiciary.
Information Source(s): Maryland State Commission on Criminal Sentencing Policy;

Judiciary (Administrative Office of the Courts); Department of State Police; Department
of Legislative Services
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Fiscal Note History: First Reader - January 29, 2024

km/Igc Third Reader - March 16, 2024
Revised - Amendment(s) - March 16, 2024
Revised - Clarification - March 16, 2024

Analysis by: Shirleen M. E. Pilgrim Direct Inquiries to:
(410) 946-5510
(301) 970-5510
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