Unofficial Copy M3 1997 Regular Session 7lr1110

By: Chairman, Environmental Matters Committee (Departmental - Environment)

Introduced and read first time: January 16, 1997

Assigned to: Environmental Matters

A BILL ENTITLED

I	AN	ACI	concerning	
---	----	-----	------------	--

2 Land Reclamation Committee

- 3 FOR the purpose of modifying the representation on the Land Reclamation Committee
- 4 and altering the number of necessary members present for a quorum; and generally
- 5 relating to the Land Reclamation Committee.
- 6 BY repealing and reenacting, with amendments,
- 7 Article Environment
- 8 Section 15-204
- 9 Annotated Code of Maryland
- 10 (1996 Replacement Volume and 1996 Supplement)

11 SECTION 1. BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF

12 MARYLAND, That the Laws of Maryland read as follows:

13 **Article - Environment**

- 14 15-204.
- 15 (a) (1) There is a Land Reclamation Committee. It consists of the following 13 16 members:
- 17 (i) Two members of the Department, including a chairman of the 18 Committee appointed by the Secretary;
- 19 (ii) A representative of the soil conservation district of Allegany
- 20 County;
- 21 (iii) A representative of the soil conservation district of Garrett
- 22 County;
- 23 (iv) Two members appointed by the Governor with the advice and
- 24 consent of the Senate for 3-year terms to represent the mining industry;
- 25 (v) One member who is a representative of [the] Allegany County
- 26 [Planning and Zoning Commission] to be appointed by the Governor, on the
- 27 recommendation of the Allegany County Commissioners, with the advice and consent of
- 28 the Senate to represent the local government for a 3-year term;

1 2	(vi) One member who is a representative of [the] Garrett County [Planning Commission] to be appointed by the Governor, on the recommendation of the			
3	Garrett County Commissioners, with the advice and consent of the House of Delegates to			
4	represent local government for a 3-year term;			
5	(vii) Two members from the community who do not have any interests in any mining operation, one to be a resident of Garrett County and one to be a resident			
7	of Allegany County, appointed by the Secretary for 3-year terms; and			
8 9	(viii) Three members of the Department of Natural Resources appointed by the Secretary of Natural Resources.			
12	(2) Committee members representing the community or local government shall receive the per diem set by the Secretary for each day they meet with the Committee or are called on by the chairman to transact other business of the Committee. Funds for the per diem allowances shall be provided for in the budget of the Department.			
16	(3) The Committee shall meet at the chairman's request and at least twice a year. A quorum consists of at least [9] 7 members. No action may be approved by the Committee unless a quorum is present and a majority of those present approves the action.			
18	(b) The Committee may:			
19 20	(1) Study and recommend surface coal mine reclamation policies, practices, and standards;			
	(2) From time to time, review the surface coal mining laws, regulations, and policies for the purpose of recommending changes to improve the efficiency and effectiveness of the program;			
24 25	(3) Review proposed changes to the surface coal mining laws and regulations to provide comments to the General Assembly and the Department;			
	(4) Review the Department's administration of the surface coal mining regulatory program and the abandoned coal mine reclamation program to determine compliance with the purpose of the subtitles;			
29 30	(5) Enter on any surface coal mining operation to determine mining and reclamation conditions; and			
31 32	(6) Recommend research, demonstration, and cost-sharing projects to promote optimum revegetation of surface coal mined lands.			
33 34	SECTION 2. AND BE IT FURTHER ENACTED, That this Act shall take effect October 1, 1997.			