Unofficial Copy

K4

1997 Regular Session
7lr2123

\_\_\_\_\_

By: Delegate Heller

Introduced and read first time: January 29, 1997

Assigned to: Appropriations

## HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION

1 A House Joint Resolution concerning

## 2 Task Force on Retirement Benefits of State and Local Law Enforcement Officers

- 3 FOR the purpose of requesting the President of the Senate and the Speaker of the House
- 4 of Delegates to establish a Task Force on Retirement Benefits of State and Local
- 5 Law Enforcement Officers; providing for the membership and the staffing of the
- 6 Task Force; requiring a certain report by a certain date; and generally relating to
  - the establishment of a Task Force on Retirement Benefits of State and Local Law
- 8 Enforcement Officers.
- 9 WHEREAS, Retirement benefits and eligibility requirements for retirement of
- 10 various law enforcement officers of the State and political subdivisions of the State vary
- 11 widely; and

7

- 12 WHEREAS, Some law enforcement officers are not able to carry with them credit
- 13 for service with one employer when they become employed by another employer; and
- WHEREAS, As a result of the disparity among various retirement systems for law
- 15 enforcement officers around the State, a decision to work for a particular employer is
- 16 often based on the quality of pension benefits rather than for other reasons; now,
- 17 therefore, be it
- 18 RESOLVED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF MARYLAND, That the
- 19 President of the Senate and the Speaker of the House of Delegates establish a Task Force
- 20 on Retirement Benefits of State and Local Law Enforcement Officers; and be it further
- 21 RESOLVED, That the Task Force study:
- 22 (1) the level of retirement benefits provided to law enforcement officers of
- 23 the State and political subdivisions of the State;
- 24 (2) the criteria for vesting and for retirement required by the various
- 25 retirement and pension systems that provide benefits to these law enforcement officers;
- 26 and
- 27 (3) the portability of retirement and pension benefits of these law
- 28 enforcement officers; and be it further
- 29 RESOLVED, That the Task Force shall consist of the following members:
- 30 (1) five members of the Senate, appointed by the President of the Senate;

26 Management.

1 2	(2) five members of the House of Delegates, appointed by the Speaker of the House of Delegates;
3	(3) the Secretary of State Police, or the Secretary's designee;
4	(4) the Comptroller, or the Comptroller's designee;
5	(5) the Secretary of Budget and Management, or the Secretary's designee;
6	(6) a representative from the Maryland Association of Counties; and
7	(7) a representative from the Maryland Municipal League; and be it further
8 9	RESOLVED, That the President of the Senate and the Speaker of the House shall select the chairman from the membership of the Task Force; and be it further
12 13 14 15	RESOLVED, That the Task Force shall be staffed by personnel from the Department of Fiscal Services and the Department of Legislative Reference, and that notice of each meeting of the Task Force be made public by delivering a copy of the meeting notice to the Legislative Information Officer, Room B-6, Department of Legislative Reference, Legislative Services Building, 90 State Circle, Annapolis, Maryland 21401-1991, at least 10 days before any scheduled meeting of the Task Force; and be it further
	RESOLVED, That the Task Force shall report to the Governor and, in accordance with § 2-1312 of the State Government Article, to the General Assembly by December 1, 1997; and be it further
	RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be forwarded by the Department of Legislative Reference to the Honorable Parris N. Glendening, Governor of Maryland; the Honorable Thomas V. Mike Miller, Jr., President of the Senate of Maryland; the

23 Honorable Casper R. Taylor, Jr., Speaker of the House of Delegates; the Honorable
 24 Louis L. Goldstein, Comptroller of the Treasury; Colonel David B. Mitchell, Secretary of
 25 State Police; and the Honorable Frederick W. Puddester, Secretary of Budget and