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Vehicle Laws -Violation of Speed Restrictions - Fines Doubled

This bill doubles the fines currently established by the Chief Judge of the District Court of
Maryland for the violations of specified speed restrictions under the Maryland Vehicle Law.

Fiscal Summary

State Effect: Potential significant increase in general fund revenues and expenditures as
discussed below.

Local Effect: None.

Small Business Effect: None. The bill would not directly affect small businesses.

Fiscal Analysis

State Effect: Under the Maryland Vehicle Law, the maximum penalty for each of these
offenses is $500. The Chief Judge of the District Court of Maryland establishes fines for
defendants who choose to prepay for the offense rather than appear in court to contest the
violation. The bill doubles these fines for certain driving offenses. Exhibit 1 lists each
offense, the number of violations in fiscal 1996, the current fine, and the fine under the bill.
Doubling the fine for exceeding the maximum speed limit by 40 miles or more results in a
fine of $1,000 which is over the statutory limit of $500.

Exhibit 1
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Type of Offense

Number of
Violations in

FY 1996
Current
Fine*

HB 1360*

Driving vehicle in excess of reasonable and prudent speed on hwy. 4,935 $45 $90

Failure to control veh. speed on hwy. to avoid collision 10,716 $90 $180

Failure to reduce veh. speed at intersection without traffic device 16 $45 $90

Failure to reduce speed at railroad grade crossing 6 $45 $90

Failure to reduce speed on curve 165 $45 $90

Failure to reduce speed on crest of grade 9 $45 $90

Failure to reduce speed on narrow and winding roadway 20 $45 $90

Failure to reduce speed in dangerous weather, highway conditions 699 $45 $90

Driving vehicle on hwy. at speed in excess of: 385,685

1 to 9 miles $40 $80

10 to 19 miles $50 $100

20 to 29 miles $110 $220

30 to 39 miles $250 $500

40 miles and over $500 $1,000**

Exceeding highway work zone speed limit 63 $250 $500

Driving school bus carrying passengers at speed more than 50 mph 2 $100 $220

Exceeding max. posted speed on bridge, elevated structure 79 $40 $100

Reckless driving 3,346 $250 $500

Negligent driving 11,774 $100 $200

* A $20 fee for court costs is added to each fine (regardless of whether the defendant appears in court to
contest the violation or pays the fine directly).
** indicates a fine, when doubled, that exceeds the maximum $500 allowed by the Maryland Vehicle Law

Source: The District Court of Maryland

In fiscal 1996 there was a total of 417,516 violations of these offenses. The number of
resulting convictions is unknown. The District Court estimates that $19 million in fine
revenues was generated from these violations in fiscal 1996. Thus, doubling the fines
conceivably could result in an additional $19 million in revenues, based on fiscal 1996
experience. However, increasing the motor vehicle fines will result in an increase in the
number of individuals who fail to pay their fines or elect to appear in court to contest the
violation. Accordingly, it is unlikely that doubling the assessed fines would result in a
doubling of the revenues collected. Further, depending upon the magnitude of the increase in
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the number of individuals who appear before the court, expenditures could increase for
additional judges, courtroom staff, and facilities to handle the increased workload.

Information Source(s): Judiciary (District Court of Maryland), Department of
Transportation (Motor Vehicle Administration), Department of Fiscal Services
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