## **Department of Fiscal Services**

Maryland General Assembly

## FISCAL NOTE

House Bill 402 (Allegany County Delegation, *et al.*) Commerce and Government Matters

## **Code Home Rule - Classification of Counties**

This bill establishes four classifications of code counties based on geographical regions. Currently, the code counties are Allegany, Caroline, Kent, Queen Anne's, and Worcester. Under the bill, the four classes are Central Maryland, Eastern Shore, Southern Maryland, and Western Maryland. Unless limited to one or more of these classes, any public general law enacted by the General Assembly applicable to code counties applies to each code county, regardless of class.

## **Fiscal Summary**

**State Effect:** None.

**Local Effect:** None. Establishing four classifications of code counties would not directly affect county finances.

**Small Business Effect:** None. The bill would not directly affect small businesses.

**Information Source(s):** Allegany County, Department of Fiscal Services

**Fiscal Note History:** First Reader - February 7, 1997

ncs

Analysis by: Thomas Himler Direct Inquiries to:

Reviewed by: John Rixey John Rixey, Coordinating Analyst

(410) 841-3710 (301) 858-3710