**Unofficial Copy** D1

1998 Regular Session (8lr2551)

## ENROLLED BILL

-- Judiciary/Judicial Proceedings and Budget and Taxation --

Introdu	iced by <b>Delegate Vallario</b>			
	Read and Examined by Proofreaders:			
		Proofreader		
Sealed with the Great Seal and presented to the Governor, for his approval this day of at o'clock,M.				
		Speaker		
	CHAPTER			
1 AN	N ACT concerning			
2	Circuit Courts - District Court - Judges			
3 FC 4 5 6	OR the purpose of increasing the number of resident judges of the circuit court in certain judicial circuits; increasing the number of associate judges of the District Court in certain districts; and generally relating to the circuit courts and the District Court.			
7 BY 8 9	Y repealing and reenacting, with amendments, Article - Courts and Judicial Proceedings Section 1-503 and 1-603			

- Annotated Code of Maryland (1995 Replacement Volume and 1997 Supplement) 11
- 12 BY repealing and reenacting, without amendments,
- 13 Article - Courts and Judicial Proceedings
- Section 1-602 14

10

- 2 (1995 Replacement Volume and 1997 Supplement)
- 3 SECTION 1. BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF
- 4 MARYLAND, That the Laws of Maryland read as follows:

## 5 Article - Courts and Judicial Proceedings

6 1-503.

- 7 (a) In each county in the first seven judicial circuits there shall be the number
- 8 of resident judges of the circuit court set forth below, including the judge or judges
- 9 provided for by the Constitution:

10	(1)	Allegany	.2
11	(2)	Anne Arundel	0
12	(3)	Baltimore County	6
13	(4)	Calvert	3
14	(5)	Caroline	.1
15	(6)	Carroll	.3
16	(7)	Charles	.4
17	(8)	Cecil	.3
18	(9)	Dorchester	.1
19	(10)	Frederick	.4
20	(11)	Garrett	.1
21	(12)	Harford	.5
22	(13)	Howard	.5
23	(14)	Kent	.1
24	(15)	Montgomery1	17
25	(16)	Prince George's [21] 2	23
26	(17)	Queen Anne's	.1
27	(18)	St. Mary's[2]	3
28	(19)	Somerset	.1

3 BILL 852				
1	(20)	Talbot1		
2	(21)	Washington		
3	(22)	Wicomico		
4	(23)	Worcester		
5 (b) 6 Baltimore 0		timore City there shall be 30 resident judges of the Circuit Court for		
7 1-602.				
		s of operation and administration of the District Court, the State ollowing districts:		
10	(1)	District 1 Baltimore City.		
11 12 Counties.	(2)	District 2 Dorchester, Wicomico, Somerset, and Worcester		
13 14 Counties.	(3)	District 3 Caroline, Talbot, Queen Anne's, Kent, and Cecil		
15	(4)	District 4 Charles, St. Mary's, and Calvert Counties.		
16	(5)	District 5 Prince George's County.		
17	(6)	District 6 Montgomery County.		
18	(7)	District 7 Anne Arundel County.		
19	(8)	District 8 Baltimore County.		
20	(9)	District 9 Harford County.		
21	(10)	District 10 Howard and Carroll Counties.		
22	(11)	District 11 Frederick and Washington Counties.		
23	(12)	District 12 Allegany and Garrett Counties.		
24 1-603.				
25 (a) The court is composed of a Chief Judge and the number of associate judges 26 provided for in subsection (b) of this section. If the Chief Judge is relieved of his duties 27 as Chief Judge but not removed from office as a judge of the District Court, he shall 28 serve for the remainder of his term of office as a District Court judge, as a resident 29 judge of his district and county of residence, without reference to the maximum 30 number of judges for that district prescribed in subsection (b).				

**HOUSE** 

31 October 1, 1998.

