BY: Senator Dyson

(To be offered in the Economic and Environmental Affairs Committee)

AMENDMENTS TO HOUSE BILL NO. 1196 (Third Reading File Bill)

AMENDMENT NO. 1

On page 1, in the sponsor line, strike "Charles County Delegation and St. Mary's County Delegation" and substitute "<u>Southern Maryland Delegation</u>"; in line 15, after "Maryland;" insert "<u>requiring Calvert County and St. Mary's County to convey certain property; allocating financial responsibility for the College among the participating counties;</u>"; in line 17, after "its" insert "<u>Calvert County and</u>"; and in line 18, strike "campus" and substitute "<u>campuses</u>".

AMENDMENT NO. 2

On page 3, in line 19, after "IN" insert "<u>CALVERT COUNTY FOR MORE THAN 15</u> <u>YEARS AND IN</u>"; in line 23, strike "TWO" and substitute "<u>THREE</u>"; after line 32, insert:

"(D) <u>"COMMISSION" MEANS THE MARYLAND HIGHER EDUCATION</u> <u>COMMISSION.</u>";

and in line 34, strike "CHARLES" and substitute "CALVERT, CHARLES,".

AMENDMENT NO. 3

On page 3 in line 33 and on page 4 in lines 1, 3, and 5, strike "(D)", "(E)", "(F)", and "(G)", respectively, and substitute "(E)", "(F)", "(G)", and "(H)", respectively.

AMENDMENT NO. 4

On page 4, in line 3, before "CHARLES" insert "<u>CALVERT COUNTY</u>,"; in line 4, after the first "COUNTY" insert a comma; in lines 6 and 20, in each instance, strike "CHARLES" and substitute "<u>CALVERT, CHARLES</u>,"; and in line 9, strike the second "CHARLES" and substitute "<u>CALVERT, CHARLES</u>,".

AMENDMENT NO. 5

On page 5, in line 1, strike "EIGHT" and substitute "<u>NINE</u>"; strike in their entirety lines 5 through 10, inclusive; in lines 11 and 13, strike "(IV)" and "(V)", respectively, and substitute "<u>(II)</u>" and "<u>(III)</u>", respectively; after line 16, insert:

"(4) <u>BY JULY 1, 2010, EACH OF THE SOUTHERN MARYLAND COUNTIES</u> <u>SHALL BE REPRESENTED BY AT LEAST THREE MEMBERS WHO ARE RESIDENTS OF</u> <u>THAT COUNTY.</u>";

strike in their entirety lines 18 and 19; and in lines 20 and 22, strike "(3)" and "(4)", respectively, and substitute "(2)" and "(3)", respectively.

AMENDMENT NO. 6

On page 7, strike in their entirety lines 9 and 10.

AMENDMENT NO. 7

On page 8, strike beginning with the comma in line 25 down through "COUNTY" in line 26; and strike beginning with "DISTRIBUTED" in line 27 down through "RESIDENCE" in line 28.

AMENDMENT NO. 8

On page 9, in lines 11 and 12, strike "St. Mary's County" and substitute "<u>Calvert and St.</u> <u>Mary's Counties</u>"; in line 12, after "transferred" insert "<u>by St. Mary's County and Calvert County</u>"; after line 13, insert:

"SECTION 6. AND BE IT FURTHER ENACTED, That:

(a) The Board of County Commissioners of Calvert County shall convey to the Board of Trustees of the College of Southern Maryland the interest of the Board of County Commissioners in the real property on Route 231 in Calvert County that the Board of County Commissioners holds jointly with the State of Maryland for community college purposes.

(b) All construction projects for the College of Southern Maryland shall be eligible for an increase to 75% in State funding.

(c) <u>The College of Southern Maryland shall return to the Board of County</u> <u>Commissioners of Calvert County the current community college site on Broomes Island Road in</u>

HB1196/763417/1 Dyson Amendments to HB 1196 Page 3 of 5

<u>Calvert County when the operation of the Calvert County campus of the College of Southern</u> <u>Maryland is transferred to the site on Route 231 in Calvert County.</u>";

in line 14, strike "6." and substitute "<u>7.</u>"; strike in their entirety lines 19 through 28, inclusive, and substitute:

"SECTION 8. AND BE IT FURTHER ENACTED, That, at the College of Southern Maryland:

(1) Direct costs shall be considered the direct charges associated with a specific campus that are paid from the operating budget of that campus.

(2) Indirect costs (Overhead expenses) shall be considered the costs of functions of the college that serve all campuses but are borne by the main campus.

- (3) Indirect costs (Overhead expenses) include:
 - (i) Institutional (Administrative) costs; and
 - (ii) Instructional and Student Services costs.

(4) <u>The Institutional (Administrative) costs of the College of Southern Maryland</u> include personnel and associated operating costs.

(5) <u>The Instructional and Student Services costs of the College of Southern</u> <u>Maryland include personnel and associated operating costs.</u>

(6) Until July 1, 2004, the Institutional (Administrative) costs of the College of Southern Maryland shall be shared as follows:

<u>(i)</u>	Charles County	35% <u>;</u>
<u>(ii)</u>	St. Mary's County	35%; and

HB1196/763417/1 Dyson Amendments to HB 1196 Page 4 of 5

(7) On and after July 1, 2004, the Institutional (Administrative) costs of the College of Southern Maryland shall be shared equally by the three counties.

(8) The Instructional and Student Services costs of the College of Southern Maryland shall be shared in proportion to the membership of the Board of Trustees of the College from each of the three counties, which membership shall be nine, of which initially five shall be residents of Charles County, two shall be residents of St. Mary's County, and two shall be residents of Calvert County.

(9) By July 1, 2010, the Instructional and Student Services costs of the College of Southern Maryland shall be shared equally by the three counties, as the membership of the Board of Trustees of the College by that time shall consist of three residents of Charles County, three residents of St. Mary's County, and three residents of Calvert County.

SECTION 9. AND BE IT FURTHER ENACTED, That:

(a) The current members of the Board of Community College Trustees for Charles County whose terms are scheduled to expire between July 1, 2001 and July 1, 2004 may continue to serve the remainder of the terms or consecutive terms that they would have been eligible to serve as members of the Board of College Trustees for Charles County as members of the Board of Trustees for the College of Southern Maryland.

(b) The initial membership of the Board of Trustees of the College of Southern Maryland shall consist of five residents of Charles County, two residents of Calvert County, and two residents of St. Mary's County. The terms of the Calvert County and St. Mary's County members shall expire on July 1, 2005, and these members are eligible for reappointment.

(c) By July 1, 2010, the membership of the Board of Trustees shall consist of three residents of Calvert County, three residents of Charles County, and three residents of St. Mary's County.";

in line 29, strike "8." and substitute "10."; in line 31, strike "St. Mary's branch campus" and

HB1196/763417/1 Dyson Amendments to HB 1196 Page 5 of 5

substitute "<u>Calvert County and St. Mary's County branch campuses</u>"; in line 33, strike "9." and substitute "<u>11.</u>"; in the same line, strike "Sections 6 and 8" and substitute "<u>Sections 7 and 10</u>"; in line 35, strike "10." and substitute "<u>12.</u>"; and in line 36, strike "9" and substitute "<u>11</u>".