1999 Regular Session


File Code: Income
Sponsored By:
Delegates Hixson, McIntosh, Barkley, Benson, Bobo, Bronrott, Conroy, C. Davis, DeCarlo, Dypski, Finifter, Glassman, Goldwater, Grosfeld, Healey, Howard, Hubbard, Hubers, Hurson, Kirk, Mandel, Menes, Minnick, Montague, Nathan-Pulliam, Patterson, Pendergrass, Petzold, Phillips, Pitkin, Riley, Shriver, Slade, Swain, Turner, Valderrama, Taylor, Marriott, Cryor, Cane, and Hecht
Income Tax - Refundable Earned Income Credit


Altering the percentage of the federal earned income credit used for determining the amount that a qualifying individual may claim as a refundable earned income credit under the State income tax from 10% to 15% for tax year 1999, from 12.5% to 20% for tax year 2000, and from 15% to 20% for tax year 2001 and subsequent tax years.

History by Legislative Date

House Action
First Reading Ways and Means
Hearing 3/11 at 1:00 p.m.
Senate Action
No Action
Sponsored by:
Delegate Sheila Ellis Hixson, District 20
Delegate Charles Barkley, District 39
Delegate Joanne C. Benson, District 24
Delegate Elizabeth Bobo, District 12B
Delegate William A. Bronrott, District 16
Delegate Rudolph C. Cane, District 37A
Delegate Mary A. Conroy, District 23
Delegate Jean B. Cryor, District 15
Delegate Clarence Davis, District 45
Delegate Diane DeCarlo, District 6
Delegate Cornell N. Dypski, District 46
Delegate Michael J. Finifter, District 11
Delegate Barry Glassman, District 35A
Delegate Marilyn R. Goldwater, District 16
Delegate Sharon M. Grosfeld, District 18
Delegate Anne Healey, District 22A
Delegate C. Sue Hecht, District 3
Delegate Carolyn J. B. Howard, District 24
Delegate James W. Hubbard, District 23
Delegate Nancy Hubers, District 6
Delegate John Adams Hurson, District 18
Delegate Ruth M. Kirk, District 44
Delegate Adrienne A. Mandel, District 19
Delegate Salima Siler Marriott, District 40
Delegate Maggie L. McIntosh, District 42
Delegate Pauline H. Menes, District 21
Delegate Joseph J. Minnick, District 7
Delegate Kenneth C. Montague, Jr., District 43
Delegate Shirley Nathan-Pulliam, District 10
Delegate Obie Patterson, District 26
Delegate Shane E. Pendergrass, District 13A
Delegate Carol Stoker Petzold, District 19
Delegate Wendell F. Phillips, District 41
Delegate Joan B. Pitkin, District 23
Delegate B. Daniel Riley, District 34
Delegate Mark K. Shriver, District 15
Delegate John F. Slade, III, District 29B
Delegate Darren M. Swain, District 24
Delegate Casper R. Taylor, Jr., District 1C
Delegate Frank S. Turner, District 13A
Delegate David M. Valderrama, District 26
Bill indexed under the following Subjects:
Bill affects the following Statute:
Tax - General
( 10-704 )


Bill Text: First Reading (PDF), Third Reading, Enrolled
Fiscal Note: Available (PDF)

Amendments: None offered