1999 Regular Session


File Code: Income Crossfiled with: SENATE BILL 562
Sponsored By:
Delegates Ports, Amedori, Baldwin, Bartlett, Boschert, Boutin, Brinkley, Cryor, Eckardt, Edwards, Elliott, Flanagan, Getty, Glassman, Greenip, Hutchins, Kach, J. Kelly, Kittleman, Klima, La Vay, Leopold, McClenahan, McKee, D. Murphy, O'Donnell, Parrott, Ports, Redmer, Rzepkowski, Schisler, Shank, Snodgrass, Stocksdale, Stull, and Walkup
Income Tax Reduction


Reducing the top marginal tax rate under the Maryland State income tax on individuals to 4.8% for tax year 1999 and to 4.75% for tax years 2000 and 2001; increasing the amount that an individual may deduct for specified exemptions to determine Maryland taxable income to $2,100 for tax year 1999 and to $2,400 for tax years 2000 and 2001; reducing the maximum amount of a subtraction allowed for two-income married couples to $1,125 for tax year 1999 and to $1,105 for tax years 2000 and 2001; etc.

History by Legislative Date

House Action
First Reading Ways and Means
Hearing 3/18 at 1:00 p.m.
Senate Action
No Action
Sponsored by:
Delegate James F. Ports, Jr., District 8
Delegate Carmen Amedori, District 5
Delegate Robert C. Baldwin, District 33
Delegate Joseph R. Bartlett, District 3
Delegate David Boschert, District 33
Delegate Charles R. Boutin, District 34
Delegate David R. Brinkley, District 4A
Delegate Jean B. Cryor, District 15
Delegate Adelaide C. Eckardt, District 37B
Delegate George C. Edwards, District 1A
Delegate Donald B. Elliott, District 4B
Delegate Robert L. Flanagan, District 14B
Delegate Joseph M. Getty, District 5
Delegate Barry Glassman, District 35A
Delegate Janet Greenip, District 33
Delegate Thomas E. Hutchins, District 28
Delegate A. Wade Kach, District 9A
Delegate James M. Kelly, District 9B
Delegate Robert H. Kittleman, District 14B
Delegate Martha S. Klima, District 9A
Delegate Richard La Vay, District 15
Delegate John R. Leopold, District 31
Delegate Charles A. McClenahan, District 38
Delegate Robert A. McKee, District 2A
Delegate Donald E. Murphy, District 12A
Delegate Anthony J. O'Donnell, District 29C
Delegate Joanne S. Parrott, District 35A
Delegate Alfred W. Redmer, Jr., District 8
Delegate James E. Rzepkowski, District 32
Delegate Kenneth D. Schisler, District 37B
Delegate Christopher B. Shank, District 2B
Delegate Louise V. Snodgrass, District 3
Delegate Nancy Reter Stocksdale, District 5
Delegate Paul S. Stull, District 4A
Delegate Mary Roe Walkup, District 36
Bill indexed under the following Subjects:
Bill affects the following Statutes:
Tax - General
( 10-105 , 10-207 , 10-211 )


Bill Text: First Reading (PDF), Third Reading, Enrolled
Fiscal Note: Available (PDF)

Amendments: None offered