1999 Regular Session


File Code: Primary and Secondary Education
Sponsored By:
Delegates Ports, Amedori, Baldwin, Bartlett, Boschert, Boutin, Brinkley, Cryor, Eckardt, Edwards, Elliott, Flanagan, Getty, Glassman, Greenip, Hutchins, Kach, J. Kelly, Kittleman, Klima, La Vay, Leopold, McClenahan, McKee, Murphy, O'Donnell, Parrott, Redmer, Rzepkowski, Schisler, Shank, Snodgrass, Stocksdale, Stull, Walkup, and Klausmeier
Education - Public School Holidays - Presidents' Day


Establishing Presidents' Day as a public school holiday; repealing provisions of law requiring a public school to devote part of the day to appropriate activities on Washington's Birthday and Lincoln's Birthday; and generally relating to public school holidays in the State.

History by Legislative Date

House Action
First Reading House Rules
Motion Rules Suspended for late introduction (Delegate Ports) Adopted (122-6)
Referred House Rules
Re-referred Ways and Means

Favorable with Amendments Report by Ways and Means
Favorable with Amendments Report Adopted
Second Reading Passed with Amendments
Motion Rules Suspended 2rdgs same day (Delegate Hixson) Adopted (132-5)
Third Reading Passed (137-0)
Senate Action
First Reading Senate Rules
Sponsored by:
Delegate James F. Ports, Jr., District 8
Delegate Carmen Amedori, District 5
Delegate Robert C. Baldwin, District 33
Delegate Joseph R. Bartlett, District 3
Delegate David Boschert, District 33
Delegate Charles R. Boutin, District 34
Delegate David R. Brinkley, District 4A
Delegate Jean B. Cryor, District 15
Delegate Adelaide C. Eckardt, District 37B
Delegate George C. Edwards, District 1A
Delegate Donald B. Elliott, District 4B
Delegate Robert L. Flanagan, District 14B
Delegate Joseph M. Getty, District 5
Delegate Barry Glassman, District 35A
Delegate Janet Greenip, District 33
Delegate Thomas E. Hutchins, District 28
Delegate A. Wade Kach, District 9A
Delegate James M. Kelly, District 9B
Delegate Robert H. Kittleman, District 14B
Delegate Katherine Klausmeier, District 8
Delegate Martha S. Klima, District 9A
Delegate Richard La Vay, District 15
Delegate John R. Leopold, District 31
Delegate Charles A. McClenahan, District 38
Delegate Robert A. McKee, District 2A
Delegate Donald E. Murphy, District 12A
Delegate Anthony J. O'Donnell, District 29C
Delegate Joanne S. Parrott, District 35A
Delegate Alfred W. Redmer, Jr., District 8
Delegate James E. Rzepkowski, District 32
Delegate Kenneth D. Schisler, District 37B
Delegate Christopher B. Shank, District 2B
Delegate Louise V. Snodgrass, District 3
Delegate Nancy Reter Stocksdale, District 5
Delegate Paul S. Stull, District 4A
Ways & Means Comm.
Delegate Mary Roe Walkup, District 36
Bill indexed under the following Subjects:
Bill affects the following Statute:
( 7-103 )


Bill Text: First Reading (PDF), Third Reading (PDF), Enrolled
Fiscal Note: Available (PDF)
Number: 505450/1 (PDF)     Offered on: April 10, 1999   at: 3:23 p.m.     Status: Adopted
Roll Call Votes (Legislative dates are shown):
April 6, 1999: Motion Rules Suspended for late introduction (Ports) Adopted (122-6)
April 7, 1999: Motion Rules Suspended 2rdgs same day (Hixson) Adopted (132-5)
April 7, 1999: Third Reading Passed (137-0)