HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION 6

Unofficial Copy R2

14 revenues;

1999 Regular Session (9lr1870)

ENROLLED RESOLUTION

-- Ways and Means /Budget and Taxation --

Introduced by **Delegates Taylor**, **Hixson**, **Healey**, **Bozman**, **C. Davis**, **Shriver**, **Hurson**, **Heller**, and **Franchot**

13 shortfall once system preservation and improvement needs begin to outpace

Read and Examined by Proofreaders:	
	Proofreader
Sealed with the Great Seal and presented to the Governor, for his approval this day of at o'clock,M.	Proofreader
	Speaker
RESOLUTION NO	
1 A House Joint Resolution concerning	
2 Commission on Transportation Investment	
FOR the purpose of establishing a Commission on Transportation Investment to examine the needs and funding of the transportation system in the State of Maryland; providing for the membership of the Commission; providing for certain notice procedures for meetings of the Commission; providing for a certain report; and generally relating to a Commission to examine the needs and funding of the transportation system in the State of Maryland.	
WHEREAS, The transportation system of this State is funded entirely by the Transportation Trust Fund which is independent of the General Fund;	
WHEREAS, The largest source of revenue dedicated to the Transportation Trust 12 Fund, the motor fuel tax, is not sensitive to inflation, thereby creating a revenue	

- 1 WHEREAS, An impending revenue shortfall would prevent the State from
- 2 addressing approximately \$400 million in future unmet transportation needs across
- 3 the State; and
- 4 WHEREAS, A comprehensive, long-term solution is necessary to avoid a
- 5 revenue shortfall and ensure that revenues dedicated to the Transportation Trust
- 6 Fund are sufficient to maintain our existing infrastructure and meet the State's
- 7 future unmet transportation needs; and
- 8 WHEREAS. In 1988 1998, the Governor and the Speaker established a
- 9 Transportation Investment Committee to review future transportation needs and
- 10 submit recommendations on ways to maintain a healthy transportation system; and
- 11 WHEREAS, There is a long-term need to continue the work of this Committee;
- 12 now, therefore, be it
- 13 RESOLVED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF MARYLAND, That the
- 14 Governor, the President of the Senate, and the Speaker of the House are requested to
- 15 establish a Commission on Transportation Investment to examine the transportation
- 16 needs of the State, receive input from the public on the potential impact of the
- 17 impending shortfall of revenues dedicated to the Transportation Trust Fund, review
- 18 the current transportation funding system, and make recommendations on:
- 19 (1) The magnitude of system preservation and unmet transportation needs
- 20 that must be funded if the State is to enhance and maintain a viable transportation
- 21 system;
- 22 (2) The appropriate level of funding necessary to support a viable
- 23 transportation system that is within the abilities of the Maryland Department of
- 24 Transportation to administer; and
- 25 (3) The development of a comprehensive, long-term solution that generates
- 26 revenues sufficient to maintain a viable transportation system and meet the
- 27 long-term funding needs of mass transit; and be it further
- 28 RESOLVED, That the Commission on Transportation Investment be composed
- 29 of:
- 30 (1) Six members of the House of Delegates appointed by the Speaker of the
- 31 House, and six members of the Senate of Maryland appointed by the President of the
- 32 Senate;
- 33 (2) The following members appointed by the Governor:
- 34 (a) The Secretary of the Department of Transportation;
- 35 (b) The Secretary of the Department of Budget and Management;
- 36 (c) The Director of the Office of Planning;

HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION 6

1 2 Authority;	(d)	A representative of the Washington Metropolitan Area Transit
3	(e)	A representative of Marylanders for Efficient and Safe Highways;
4	(f)	A representative of the trucking industry;
5	(g)	A representative of an environmental advocacy group; and
6	<u>(h)</u>	A member of the Maryland Aviation Commission;
7	<u>(i)</u>	A member of the Maryland Port Commission;
8	<u>(j)</u>	A representative of the Maryland Association of Counties;
9	<u>(k)</u>	A representative of the Maryland Municipal League;
10	<u>(l)</u>	The chairman of the 1998 Transit Advisory Panel; and
11 12 be it further	. (h)	$\underline{(m)}$ Four Six members of the public appointed by the Governor; and

- 13 RESOLVED, That the Governor shall designate the Chairman of the
- 14 Commission on Transportation Investment after consultation with the President of
- 15 the Senate and Speaker of the House; and be it further
- RESOLVED, That, to the extent practicable, the Governor shall attempt to
- 17 ensure regional, economic, ethnic, and gender diversity on the Commission; and be it
- 18 further
- 19 RESOLVED, That the Commission on Transportation Investment report its
- 20 findings recommendations to the Governor, and as provided in § 2-1246 of the State
- 21 Government Article, to the General Assembly by December 1, 1999; and be it further
- 22 RESOLVED, That staff for the Commission be provided by the Maryland
- 23 Department of Transportation and the Department of Legislative Services; and be it
- 24 further
- 25 RESOLVED, That notice of each meeting of the Commission be made public by
- 26 delivering a copy of the meeting notice to the Legislative Information Officer, Room
- 27 B-6, Department of Legislative Services, Legislative Services Building, 90 State
- 28 Circle, Annapolis, Maryland 21401-1991. During the Interim, the notice should be
- 29 delivered no later than Thursday at 9 a.m. and, during the legislative session,
- 30 Wednesday, at 9 a.m., for inclusion in the weekly Hearing Schedule; and be it further
- 31 RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be forwarded by the Department of
- 32 Legislative Services to the Honorable Parris N. Glendening, Governor of Maryland;
- 33 the Honorable Thomas V. Mike Miller, Jr., President of the Senate of Maryland; and
- 34 the Honorable Casper R. Taylor, Jr., Speaker of the House of Delegates.