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Self-Defense Act of 1999

This bill eliminates the requirements that a person have a “good and substantial reason” for
getting a handgun permit and not exhibit “a propensity for violence or instability.” However,
it prohibits permits for people who have been in-patient psychiatric patients for more than
three days or have been convicted of sex crimes, spousal assault, or child abuse. The bill
requires an applicant for a handgun permit to complete a handgun instruction course or
demonstrate proficiency with a firearm, and requires that an applicant be at least 21 years old.
In addition, the Department of State Police is required to issue a permit within 90 days, must
approve handgun courses, and may not place restrictions on handgun permits. Fees, fines,
and permit durations are also altered. The bill also allows a person with a valid handgun
permit from another state to carry a handgun in Maryland.

Fiscal Summary

State Effect: General fund revenues would decrease by $256,000 and general fund
expenditures would decrease by $366,000 in FY 2000. Future years reflect annualization of
these amounts. Special fund revenues would increase by $258,000 and expenditures would
increase by $854,000 in FY 2000. Future year revenue and expenditure projections fluctuate
due to changes in the fee schedule.

(in millions) FY 2000 FY 2001 FY 2002 FY 2003 FY 2004
GF Revenues ($0.256) ($0.341) ($0.341) ($0.341) ($0.341)
SF Revenues 0.258 0.343 0.405 (0.135) 0.405
GF Expenditures (0.366) (0.488) (0.488) (0.488) (0.488)
SF Expenditures 0.854 0.976 1.357 1.103 1.357
Net Effect ($0.490) ($0.490) ($0.933) ($1.091) ($0.933)

Note: () = decrease; GF = general funds; FF = federal funds; SF = special funds, - =indeterminate effect

Local Effect: None.



Small Business Effect: Meaningful. It is assumed that this bill would lead to significantly
increased handgun sales in the State.

Fiscal Analysis

Background: Under current law a handgun permit application costs $75 and a $50 renewal
fee is required every two years. There are 25,171 people in Maryland licensed to carry a
handgun. In 1998 the State Police issued 1,261 initial handgun permit applications. The
average number of handgun permit applications for the past three years is 1,291; the average
number of permit renewals is 8,390, and the average number of duplicate permits issued is
1,884 annually. It currently takes a minimum of 60 to 90 days to receive the results of a
national criminal history record check from the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI).

State Revenues: The bill diverts all revenue collected for handgun permits to a special Self
Defense and Personal Safety Fund (SDPSF). Assuming 1,291 permit applications are
received, one-third of existing permits are renewed, and 1,884 duplicate permit applications
are processed, general fund revenues would decrease by $255,968 in fiscal 2000 and
$341,290 annually. This amount is not fully reflected in SDPSF revenues, as changes in the
fee schedule reduce the revenue stream that is diverted to the SDPSF.

The bill extends the duration of a permit from three to four years, and reduces the renewal fee
from $50 to $25. Assuming one-third of permits renew each year, the amount diverted to the
SDPSF would be reduced by $106,227 in fiscal 2000, by $141,635 in fiscal 2001, and by
$203,750 in fiscal 2002 and 2004. The reduction in fiscal 2003 would be $416,210 as no
renewals would come due that year. This is greater than the current revenue stream,
reflecting the increase in the number of permits anticipated as a result of this bill.

The bill exempts handgun permit holders from paying the $10 handgun registration fee.
Assuming half of all handgun owners buy one gun a year, the revenue stream diverted to the

SDPSF could be further reduced by $94,390 in fiscal 2000 and $125,860 annually.

Other provisions of the bill would increase the revenue streams that are going to the SDPSF.
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The State Police estimate removing the requirement that a permit holder be a Maryland
resident could double the number of permit applications. In addition, the bill changes the fee
from $75 to $80. Assuming 1,291 applications at the higher fee rate and twice that number
of new applications, revenues sent to the SDPSF would be $82,301 higher in fiscal 2000 than
under current law. In future years SDPSF revenues would be $109,735 higher.

The State Police issue approximately 1,884 duplicate licenses annually. Raising the fee from
$10 to $15 would raise $7,065 in fiscal 2000 and $9,420 annually.

The State Police estimate the $15 late fee imposed in the bill will be collected on 1% of
renewals. As the State Police are required to send the permit holders renewal notices it is
assumed few will be subject to this penalty. This would raise $1,400 in fiscal 2000 and an
estimated $1,800 annually, although no revenue would be collected in fiscal 2003 as no
renewals would come due that year.

State Expenditures: The bill directs that expenditures for handgun permits come from the
SDPSF. This would presumably eliminate the general funds currently used for this purpose.
It is estimated that this would reduce general fund expenditures by $366,000 in fiscal 2000
and by $488,000 annually thereafter.

Based on information from the Department of State Police, the Department of Legislative
Services estimates that it costs $189 to process a handgun permit application and issue a
license. This includes salaries, fringe benefits, equipment, and administrative costs. The
State Police estimate that this bill could double the number of handgun permit applications
received annually. Assuming 2,582 additional permit applications are filed annually, SDPSF
expenditures could be higher than current general fund expenditures by $366,000 in fiscal
2000 and $488,000 annually. Accordingly, special fund expenditures would increase by
$854,000 in fiscal 2000 which reflects the bill’s October 1, 1999 effective date.

The bill requires applicants to submit fingerprints, but does not permit the State Police to
recover a fee to run a criminal history records check. If the State Police continue to run
criminal history record checks on permit applicants, expenditures would increase by $42 for
each license application. However, the State Police believe that this bill eliminates the
requirement for criminal history record checks.

The bill requires the State Police to mail a renewal notice to each permit holder at least 90
days before the permit expires. Any increase in costs would be offset by savings from
changing to a four-year renewal period.

The State Police is required to establish an automated list of handgun permit holders and
make the list available to any law enforcement agency. Currently, this database is stored on
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file cards and other forms of paper. While computer capacities for the State Police are
currently being upgraded, this bill would require additional computer programming as well as
data entry. While the cost of such a system cannot be reliably estimated at this time, it is
assumed to be significant.

The State Police are required to approve handgun courses. This can be handled with existing
budgeted resources.

Information Source(s): Department of State Police, Department of Legislative Services
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