Unofficial Copy D1 2000 Regular Session Olr1017 CF Olr1016

By: Tl	he Speaker (Judiciary)		
Introd	uced and read first time: February 9, 2000		
Assign	ned to: Judiciary		
Comm	nittee Report: Favorable with amendments		
	action: Adopted		
	second time: March 14, 2000		
	CHAPTER		
1 A	N ACT concerning		
2	Judgeships - Circuit Courts and District Court		
3 F(OR the purpose of increasing the number of judges authorized for Circuits 1, 3, 5, 6,		
4	7, and 8 (Anne Arundel, Baltimore, Montgomery, Prince George's, and Worcester		
5	counties and Baltimore City); increasing the number of associate judges of the		
6	District Court in District 4 and providing for the effective date of this Act.		
7 B	Y repealing and reenacting, with amendments,		
8	Article - Courts and Judicial Proceedings		
9	Section 1-503(a)(2), (3), (15), (16), and (23) and (b) and 1-603(b)		
10	Annotated Code of Maryland		
11	(1998 Replacement Volume and 1999 Supplement)		
12 B	BY repealing and reenacting, without amendments,		
13	Article Courts and Judicial Proceedings		
14	Section 1-602		
15	Annotated Code of Maryland		
16	(1998 Replacement Volume and 1999 Supplement)		

17 SECTION 1. BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF 18 MARYLAND, That the Laws of Maryland read as follows:

1 **Article - Courts and Judicial Proceedings** 2 1-503. 3 (a) In each county in the first seven judicial circuits there shall be the number 4 of resident judges of the circuit court set forth below, including the judge or judges provided for by the Constitution: 6 Anne Arundel[10] 11 (2) 7 Baltimore County.....[16] 17 (3) 8 (15)Prince George's [23] 24 9 (16)10 (23)11 In Baltimore City there shall be [30] 31 resident judges of the Circuit (b) 12 Court for Baltimore City. 13 1-602. 14 For the purposes of operation and administration of the District Court, the State 15 is divided into the following districts: 16 (1)District 1 -- Baltimore City. 17 (2) District 2 Dorchester, Wicomico, Somerset, and Worcester 18 Counties. 19 (3)District 3 Caroline, Talbot, Queen Anne's, Kent, and Cecil 20 Counties. District 4 -- Charles, St. Mary's, and Calvert Counties. 21 (4)22 (5)District 5 Prince George's County. 23 District 6 -- Montgomery County. (6) (7)District 7 Anne Arundel County. 24 25 (8) District 8 -- Baltimore County. 26 (9) District 9 Harford County. 27 District 10 -- Howard and Carroll Counties. (10)(11)District 11 Frederick and Washington Counties. 28 29 (12)District 12 -- Allegany and Garrett Counties.

1 1 603.			
2 (b) In each of the districts provided for in § 1 602 of this subtitle, there shall 3 be the following number of associate judges of the District Court:			
4	(1)	District 1 26	
5	(2)	District 2 5, two to be appointed from Wicomico County	
6	(3)	District 3 6, two to be appointed from Cecil County	
7	(4)	District 4 [4] 5, two to be appointed from Charles County	
8	(5)	District 5 13	
9	(6)	District 6 13	
10	(7)	District 7 8	
11	(8)	District 8 13	
12	(9)	District 9 4	
13 14 be appoint	(10) ed from I	District 10 7, two to be appointed from Carroll County and five to loward County	
15 16 to be appo	(11) inted from	District 11 5, three to be appointed from Frederick County and two n Washington County	
17	(12)	District 12 3, two to be appointed from Allegany County	

SECTION 2. AND BE IT FURTHER ENACTED, That this Act shall take effect July 1, 2000.