Unofficial Copy L6

By: Washington County Delegation Introduced and read first time: February 9, 2000 Assigned to: Commerce and Government Matters

HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION

1 A House Joint Resolution concerning

2

J. Louis Boublitz District Court Building

FOR the purpose of naming the new Washington County District Court building in
 honor of J. Louis Boublitz.

5 WHEREAS, J. Louis Boublitz, a native of Baltimore, worked at the Cotton Duck 6 Mill Manufacturing Co. while attending the University of Baltimore 5 nights a week 7 after work; and

8 WHEREAS, J. Louis Boublitz began his 45-year law career with the law offices 9 of Weinberg and Green, leaving to serve with Patton's Third Army during World War 10 II, and thereafter continuing his law career in Washington County, eventually serving 11 as city attorney to Hagerstown for 4 years and as chairman of the Washington County 12 Planning and Zoning Commission for a term; and

WHEREAS, J. Louis Boublitz was appointed to the bench in Washington County
when the District Court opened its doors in 1971, and served until his retirement
from the bench in 1982; and

WHEREAS, J. Louis Boublitz was greatly respected by members of the
Maryland State Bar and the residents of Washington County for his firm but fair
courtroom proceedings, commitment to justice, and devotion to the community; and

19 WHEREAS, The General Assembly wishes to express its profound respect for,

20 and deep gratitude to, J. Louis Boublitz, and to name the Washington County District

21 Court building in honor of his service to the District Court of Maryland for

22 Washington County and the State of Maryland; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF MARYLAND, That the new
 Washington County District Court building be named after J. Louis Boublitz; and be
 it further

26 RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be forwarded by the Department of

27 Legislative Services to the Honorable Parris N. Glendening, Governor of Maryland;

28 the Honorable Thomas V. Mike Miller, Jr., President of the Senate of Maryland; the29 Honorable Casper R. Taylor, Jr., Speaker of the House of Delegates; and the

30 Honorable Martha Rasin, Chief Judge of the District Court of Maryland.