Unofficial Copy M1

By: Delegate Rudolph

Introduced and read first time: February 11, 2000 Assigned to: Appropriations

HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION

1 A House Joint Resolution concerning

2	Task Force to Study Emergency Management Preparedness, Mitigation,
3	Response, and Recovery Program and Fund

4 FOR the purpose of requesting the Governor to appoint a task force to study the

5 creation and funding of an Emergency Management Preparedness, Mitigation

6 Response, and Recovery Program and Fund; providing for the membership of

7 the task force; providing for a certain report; providing for the chairman and

8 staffing of the task force; providing for the task force's charge; and generally

9 relating to a task force to study the creation and funding of an Emergency

10 Management Preparedness, Mitigation, Response, and Recovery Program and

11 Fund.

12 WHEREAS, Disasters dramatically impact the citizens of Maryland; and

13 WHEREAS, Disasters cause millions of dollars of damages each year; and

14 WHEREAS, An adequate funding source is necessary to appropriately respond 15 to these disasters; and

WHEREAS, Funds are needed to develop pre-disaster planning, proactive and
reactive mitigation, and response to and recovery from emergencies and disasters;
and

WHEREAS, Appropriate funding will lessen the effect of disasters on this State,help protect the lives and property of State residents and the environment from theeffects of disasters; and

22 WHEREAS, A fund will supplement existing federal, State, and local budgetary 23 resources dedicated to emergency management; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF MARYLAND, That the
Governor is requested to establish a Task Force to Study Emergency Management
Preparedness, Mitigation, Response, and Recovery Program and Fund to study the
feasibility of creating an Emergency Management Preparedness, Mitigation,
Response, and Recovery Program and Fund; and be it further

28 Response, and Recovery Program and Fund; and be it further

29 RESOLVED, That the Task Force be composed of:

HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION 19

1 (1) Two members of the House of Delegates, appointed by the Speaker of the 2 House; and two members of the Senate of Maryland, appointed by the President of the 3 Senate;

4 (2) The Director of the Management Emergency Agency, or the Director's 5 designee;

6 (3) The Secretary of Budget and Management, or the Secretary's designee;

7 (4) The Secretary of Housing and Community Development, or the Secretary's 8 designee;

9 (5) The Secretary of the Environment, or the Secretary's designee;

10 (6) The Secretary of Health and Mental Hygiene, or the Secretary's designee;

11 (7) The Secretary of the Department of Human Resources, or the Secretary's 12 designee;

13 (8) The Director of the Maryland Office of Planning, or the Director's14 designee;

15 (9) The Director of the State Emergency Management Agency; and

16 (10) Three members of the public appointed by the Governor; and be it further

17 RESOLVED, That the Governor designate the Chairman of the Task Force; and18 be it further

19 RESOLVED, That the Task Force report its findings and recommendations to 20 the General Assembly on or before January 1, 2001, in accordance with § 2-1246 of 21 the State Government Article; and be it further

22 RESOLVED, Staff for the Task Force shall be provided by the Office of the 23 Governor; and be it further

RESOLVED, That notice of each meeting of the Task Force be made public by
delivering a copy of the meeting notice to the Legislative Information Officer, Room
B-6, Department of Legislative Services, Legislative Services Building, 90 State
Circle, Annapolis, Maryland 21401-1991. The notice should be delivered no later than
Tuesday afternoon at 4:00 p.m. for inclusion in the weekly Hearing Schedule; and be
it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be forwarded by the Department of
Legislative Services to the Honorable Parris N. Glendening, Governor of Maryland;
the Honorable Thomas V. Mike Miller, Jr., President of the Senate of Maryland; and
the Honorable Casper R. Taylor, Jr., Speaker of the House of Delegates.