Unofficial Copy D1

24

25

(2)

(3)

2000 Regular Session 0lr1016 CF 0lr1017

	(PRE-FILED)			
By: The President (Judiciary) Requested: November 15, 1999 Introduced and read first time: January 12, 2000 Assigned to: Budget and Taxation				
	A BILL ENTITLED			
1	AN ACT concerning			
2	Judgeships - Circuit Courts and District Court			
3 4 5 6	FOR the purpose of increasing the number of judges authorized for Circuits 1, 3, 5, 6, 7, and 8 (Anne Arundel, Baltimore, Montgomery, Prince George's, and Worcester counties and Baltimore City); increasing the number of associate judges of the District Court in District 4 and providing for the effective date of this Act.			
7 8 9 10 11	BY repealing and reenacting, with amendments, Article - Courts and Judicial Proceedings Section 1-503(a)(2), (3), (15), (16), and (23) and (b) and 1-603(b) Annotated Code of Maryland (1998 Replacement Volume and 1999 Supplement)			
12 13 14 15 16	BY repealing and reenacting, without amendments, Article - Courts and Judicial Proceedings Section 1-602 Annotated Code of Maryland (1998 Replacement Volume and 1999 Supplement)			
17 18	SECTION 1. BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF MARYLAND, That the Laws of Maryland read as follows:			
19	Article - Courts and Judicial Proceedings			
20	1-503.			
	(a) In each county in the first seven judicial circuits there shall be the number of resident judges of the circuit court set forth below, including the judge or judges provided for by the Constitution:			

Anne Arundel[10] 11

Baltimore County.....[16] 17

2				SENATE BILL			
69				SENATE DILL			
1		(15)	Montgomery[17] 18				
2		(16)	Prince George's				
3		(23)	Worcester				
4 5	(b) In Baltimore City there shall be [30] 31 resident judges of the Circuit Court for Baltimore City.						
6	1-602.						
7 8	For the purposes of operation and administration of the District Court, the State is divided into the following districts:						
9		(1)	District 1 Baltimore City.				
10 11	Counties.	(2)	District 2 Dorchester, Wicomico, Somerset, and Worcester				
12 13	Counties.	(3)	District 3 Caroline, Talbot, Queen Anne's, Kent, and Cecil				
14		(4)	District 4 Charles, St. Mary's, and Calvert Counties.				
15		(5)	District 5 Prince George's County.				
16		(6)	District 6 Montgomery County.				
17		(7)	District 7 Anne Arundel County.				
18		(8)	District 8 Baltimore County.				
19		(9)	District 9 Harford County.				
20		(10)	District 10 Howard and Carroll Counties.				
21		(11)	District 11 Frederick and Washington Counties.				
22		(12)	District 12 Allegany and Garrett Counties.				
23	1-603.						
24 (b) In each of the districts provided for in § 1-602 of this subtitle, there shall 25 be the following number of associate judges of the District Court:							
26		(1)	District 1 26				
27		(2)	District 2 5, two to be appointed from Wicomico County				
28		(3)	District 3 6, two to be appointed from Cecil County				

District 4 -- [4] 5, two to be appointed from Charles County

29

(4)

SENATE BILL 69

1	(5)	District 5 13
2	(6)	District 6 13
3	(7)	District 7 8
4	(8)	District 8 13
5	(9)	District 9 4
6 7 be appointed	(10) I from Ho	District 10 7, two to be appointed from Carroll County and five to oward County
8 9 to be appoin	(11) ted from	District 11 5, three to be appointed from Frederick County and two Washington County
10	(12)	District 12 3, two to be appointed from Allegany County

SECTION 2. AND BE IT FURTHER ENACTED, That this Act shall take effect 12 July 1, 2000.