## **SENATE BILL 69**

Unofficial Copy D1 2000 Regular Session 0lr1016 CF 0lr1017

(PRE-FILED)

By: **The President (Judiciary)** Requested: November 15, 1999 Introduced and read first time: January 12, 2000 Assigned to: Budget and Taxation Reassigned: Judicial Proceedings and Budget and Taxation, January 13, 2000

Committee Report: Favorable with amendments Senate action: Adopted Read second time: February 28, 2000

CHAPTER\_\_\_\_\_

1 AN ACT concerning

2

## Judgeships - Circuit Courts and District Court

3 FOR the purpose of increasing the number of <u>resident</u> judges authorized for <del>Circuits</del>

- 4 1, 3, 5, 6, 7, and 8 ( the circuit courts for Anne Arundel, Baltimore, Montgomery,
- 5 Prince George's, and Worcester counties and Baltimore City<del>)</del>; increasing the
- 6 number of associate judges of the District Court in District 4 and providing for
- 7 the effective date of this Act; and specifying the number of associate judges of
- 8 the District Court to be appointed from St. Mary's County.

9 BY repealing and reenacting, with amendments,

- 10 Article Courts and Judicial Proceedings
- 11 Section 1-503(a)(2), (3), (15), (16), and (23) and (b) and 1-603(b)
- 12 Annotated Code of Maryland
- 13 (1998 Replacement Volume and 1999 Supplement)

14 BY repealing and reenacting, without amendments,

- 15 Article Courts and Judicial Proceedings
- 16 Section 1-602
- 17 Annotated Code of Maryland
- 18 (1998 Replacement Volume and 1999 Supplement)

19 SECTION 1. BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF

20 MARYLAND, That the Laws of Maryland read as follows:

2	SENATE BILL 69				
1	Article - Courts and Judicial Proceedings				
2 1-503.					
3 (a) In each county in the first seven judicial circuits there shall be the number 4 of resident judges of the circuit court set forth below, including the judge or judges 5 provided for by the Constitution:					
6	(2)	Anne Arundel[10] 11			
7	(3)	Baltimore County[16] 17			
8	(15)	Montgomery[17] 18			
9	(16)	Prince George's[23] 24			
10	(23)	Worcester			
11 (b) 12 Court for 1	11 (b) In Baltimore City there shall be [30] 31 resident judges of the Circuit 12 Court for Baltimore City.				
13 1-602.					
14 For the purposes of operation and administration of the District Court, the State 15 is divided into the following districts:					
16	(1)	District 1 Baltimore City.			
17 18 Counties.	(2)	District 2 Dorchester, Wicomico, Somerset, and Worcester			
19 20 Counties.	(3)	District 3 Caroline, Talbot, Queen Anne's, Kent, and Cecil			
21	(4)	District 4 Charles, St. Mary's, and Calvert Counties.			
22	(5)	District 5 Prince George's County.			
23	(6)	District 6 Montgomery County.			
24	(7)	District 7 Anne Arundel County.			
25	(8)	District 8 Baltimore County.			
26	(9)	District 9 Harford County.			
27	(10)	District 10 Howard and Carroll Counties.			
28	(11)	District 11 Frederick and Washington Counties.			
29	(12)	District 12 Allegany and Garrett Counties.			

## **SENATE BILL 69**

<ul> <li>2 (b) In each of the districts provided for in § 1-602 of this subtitle, there shall</li> <li>3 be the following number of associate judges of the District Court:</li> </ul>				
4	(1)	District 1 26		
5	(2)	District 2 5, two to be appointed from Wicomico County		
6	(3)	District 3 6, two to be appointed from Cecil County		
7 8 <u>to be appoir</u>	(4) nted from	District 4 [4] 5, two to be appointed from Charles County <u>and two</u> St. Mary's County		
9	(5)	District 5 13		
10	(6)	District 6 13		
11	(7)	District 7 8		
12	(8)	District 8 13		
13	(9)	District 9 4		
14 (10) District 10 7, two to be appointed from Carroll County and five to 15 be appointed from Howard County				
16 17 to be appoi	(11) nted fron	District 11 5, three to be appointed from Frederick County and two n Washington County		
18	(12)	District 12 3, two to be appointed from Allegany County		

19 SECTION 2. AND BE IT FURTHER ENACTED, That this Act shall take effect 20 July 1, 2000.

1 1-603.