0lr2614

Unofficial Copy 2000 Regular Session R2

By: Senator Dyson

Introduced and read first time: February 4, 2000

Assigned to: Budget and Taxation

SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION

1 A Senate Joint Resolution concerning

2 **Hughesville-Lexington Park Railway Corridor Commission**

- 3 FOR the purpose of requesting the Governor to establish the Hughesville-Lexington
- Park Railway Corridor Commission to take certain steps to initiate 4
- 5 implementation of the recommendations of the 1998 Hughesville to Lexington
- 6 Park Right-of-Way Preservation Study; providing for the appointment,
- membership, staff, and duties of the Commission; requiring the Commission to 7
- 8 submit a report of its recommendations to the Governor by a certain date; and
- generally relating to the Hughesville-Lexington Park Railway Corridor 9
- 10 Commission.
- 11 WHEREAS, Because of population growth and increasing land values, the cost
- 12 of acquiring and constructing new rights-of-way is escalating and it is, therefore, in
- 13 the best interest of the State to protect existing railroad rights-of-way for possible
- 14 future use as trails, utility corridors, highways, mass transit, or railroad use; and
- 15 WHEREAS, There are several short term and long term actions that can be
- 16 taken now to ensure that future generations will have options from which to select
- 17 the best uses of railroad rights-of-way; and
- 18 WHEREAS, Implementation of specific recommendations with regard to
- 19 right-of-way preservation and use requires the support and cooperation of all
- 20 participating government agencies on the local, State, and federal levels; and
- WHEREAS, The 1998 Hughesville to Lexington Park Right-of-Way 21
- 22 Preservation Study, resulting from Chapter 594 (SB 256) of the Acts of 1998,
- 23 recommended a plan of action for the preservation of the Hughesville-Lexington Park
- 24 right-of-way, and there is a vital and immediate need to take steps to implement
- 25 those recommendations; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF MARYLAND, That the 26
- 27 Governor is requested to establish the Hughesville-Lexington Park Railway Corridor
- 28 Commission consisting of nine members appointed by the Governor as follows:
- 29 1 member of the State Senate, recommended by the President of the (1)
- 30 Senate:

SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION 8

1 2	(2) 1 member of the House of Delegates, recommended by the Speaker of the House;
3 4	(3) U.S. Representative Steny H. Hoyer of the 5th Congressional District, or his designee;
5	(4) 1 representative of the Patuxent River Naval Air Station;
6	(5) 1 representative of the Naval Alliance;
7	(6) 1 member of the Charles County Board of Commissioners;
8	(7) 1 member of the St. Mary's County Board of Commissioners;
9	(8) 1 representative of the federal Mass Transit Administration; and
	(9) 1 representative of the Maryland Department of Transportation with expertise in mass transit, recommended by the Secretary of Transportation; and be it further
13 14	RESOLVED, That the Governor shall appoint the Chairman of the Commission from among the Commission's members; and be it further
15 16	RESOLVED, That the Commission shall meet regularly subject to the call of the Chairman; and be it further
17 18	RESOLVED, That staffing for the Commission shall be provided by the Maryland Department of Transportation; and be it further
	RESOLVED, That the Commission shall consider the recommendations of the 1998 Hughesville to Lexington Park Right-of-Way Preservation Study and determine:
22 23	(1) the optimal plan for funding the implementation of the Study's recommendations;
24 25	(2) when and how best to seek funding from federal, State, and county sources; and
26 27	(3) the schedule for initiating and completing the recommendations of the Study; and be it further
28 29	RESOLVED, That the Commission shall submit a report on the Commission's recommendations to the Governor on or before July 1, 2001; and be it further
32	RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be forwarded by the Department of Legislative Services to the Honorable Parris N. Glendening, Governor of Maryland; the Honorable Thomas V. Mike Miller, Jr., President of the Senate of Maryland; and the Honorable Casper R. Taylor, Jr., Speaker of the House of Delegates.