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Homicide by Aggressive Driving

This bill establishes the offense of homicide by aggressive driving. A person is guilty of this
offense if, while driving a vehicle during a single traffic incident, that person commits two or
more specified violations and causes the death of another person as a result of the person’s
negligent driving. Violators are guilty of a misdemeanor and are subject to imprisonment of
up to one year and/or a fine of up to $1,000. Further, 12 points are assessed on an offender’s
driving record.

Fiscal Summary

State Effect: Potential minimal increase in general fund revenues and expenditures due to
the bill’s penalty provision.

Local Effect: Potential minimal increase in revenues and expenditures due to the bill’s
penalty provision.

Small Business Effect: None.

Analysis

Current Law: A person who causes the death of another as the result of driving in a grossly
negligent manner is guilty of manslaughter by automobile. This offense carries an
imprisonment sentence of up to ten years and/or a fine of up to $5,000.

There is no offense of aggressive driving under the Maryland Vehicle Law.
State Revenues: General fund revenues could increase minimally as a result of the bill’s
monetary penalty provision from cases heard in the District Court.
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State Expenditures: General fund expenditures could increase minimally as a result of the
bill’s incarceration penalty due to more people being committed to Division of Correction
(DOC) facilities and increased payments to counties for reimbursement of inmate costs. The
number of people convicted of this proposed crime is expected to be minimal.

Persons serving a sentence of one year or less in a jurisdiction other than Baltimore City are
sentenced to local detention facilities. The State reimburses counties for part of their
incarceration costs, on a per diem basis, after a person has served 90 days. State per diem
reimbursements for fiscal 2001 are estimated to range from $11 to $54 per inmate depending
upon the jurisdiction. Persons sentenced to such a term in Baltimore City are generally
incarcerated in DOC facilities. Currently, the DOC average total cost per inmate, including
overhead, is estimated at $1,700 per month. This bill alone, however, should not create the
need for additional beds, personnel, or facilities. The average variable cost of housing a new
DOC inmate (food, medical care, etc.), excluding overhead, is $260 per month. The
Baltimore City Detention Center, a State operated facility, is used primarily for pretrial
detentions.

The Motor Vehicle Administration could handle any additional assessment of points on
driving records with existing budgeted resources.

Local Revenues: Revenues could increase minimally as a result of the bill’s monetary
penalty provision from cases heard in the circuit courts.

Local Expenditures: Expenditures could increase minimally as a result of the bill’s
incarceration penalty. Counties pay the full cost of incarceration for people in their facilities
for the first 90 days of the sentence, plus part of the per diem cost after 90 days. Per diem
operating costs of local detention facilities are expected to range from $22 to $83 per inmate
in fiscal 2001.
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Additional Information

Prior Introductions: None.

Cross File: None.

Information Source(s): Maryland Department of Transportation (Motor Vehicle
Administration), Judiciary, Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services (Division
of Correction), Department of Legislative Services

Fiscal Note History: First Reader - February 28, 2000
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