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Vehicle Laws - Aggressive Driving

This bill establishes the offense of aggressive driving. An individual is guilty of aggressive
driving if that individual commits a combination of two or more specified offenses at the
same time or arising out of circumstances simultaneous in time and place. Violators are
subject to a fine of up to $500 or imprisonment of up to two months. In addition, three points
are assessed on the violator’s driving record. The Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA)
must assess cumulative points for aggressive driving and for each additional offense that was
committed at the same time or arising out of simultaneous circumstances to a maximum of 12
points.

. ______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________|
Fiscal Summary

State Effect: Transportation Trust Fund (TTF) expenditures would increase by $63,900 in
FY 2001, exclusive of costs for administrative hearings and computer programming. TTF
revenues would increase from fees to reissue suspended and revoked licenses. General fund
revenues would increase from fines.

(in dollars) FY 2001 FY 2002 FY 2003 FY 2004 FY 2005
GF Revenues - - - -
SF Revenues - - - - -
SF Expenditures $63,900 $74,400 $78,000 $81,700 $85,700
Net Effect ($63,900) ($74,400) ($78,000) ($81,700) ($85,700)
Note: () = decrease; GF = general funds; FF = federal funds; SF = special funds; - = indeterminate effect

Local Effect: The criminal penalty provisions of this bill are not expected to materially
affect local finances or operations.

Small Business Effect: Minimal. To the extent that drivers accumulate additional points on



their driving records, small businesses that provide driver improvement programs may
experience an indeterminate increase in business.

Analysis

Current Law: There is no offense for aggressive driving under the Maryland Vehicle Law.
However, reckless driving is defined as driving in a wanton or willful disregard for the safety
of persons or property. Further, negligent driving is defined as driving in a careless or
imprudent manner that endangers the life or property of any individual.

If a conviction occurs on multiple charges that were committed at the same time or arose out
of circumstances simultaneous in time and place, the MV A must only assess points for the
charge that has the highest point assessment.

Background: In 1997, the Federal Highway Administration awarded a $400,000 grant to the
Maryland State Police to test advanced speed detection devices and high-resolution digital
cameras that would detect and record aggressive driving and other traffic violations.
Warnings are sent to the offending drivers but no fines are imposed under the pilot program.

In 1999, 15 states introduced a total of 31 aggressive driving bills. Most of these bills
attempted to define aggressive driving offenses and to establish penalties for them. Some
specify characteristics of aggressive drivers, or give those convicted of the offense certain
additional penalties. Arizona became the first state to adopt an aggressive driving law in
1998. In 1999, Delaware and Nevada enacted similar laws. The Delaware law provides that
drivers are guilty of aggressive driving if convicted of three or more specific traffic offenses
resulting from a single incident. Offenders are required to attend behavior modification
courses.

In 1999, there were 4,377 violations of reckless driving and 15,338 violations of negligent
driving in Maryland.

State Revenues: General fund revenue could increase from the penalty provision applicable
to this offense under the Maryland Vehicle Law (maximum $500 fine).

The MV A charges a $45 fee to process forms in order to reinstate a license that was revoked
due to non-alcohol related offenses and $75 to reinstate a license revoked for alcohol/drug
related offenses. A $20 fee is charged to create the new license. TTF revenues could
increase in future years based on the number of individuals whose licenses were revoked and
subsequently reinstated.

State Expenditures: The MVA suspends the driver’s licenses of individuals who
accumulate eight points on their driving records and must revoke the licenses of those who
accumulate 12 points. The bill establishes aggressive driving as a three-point offense. The
bill further requires that the MV A must assess cumulative points for aggressive driving and
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for each additional offense that was committed at the same time. Accordingly, it is likely that
many of those charged with aggressive driving will be subject to a license suspension or
revocation.

TTF expenditures thus could increase by an estimated $63,900 in fiscal 2001, which accounts
for the bill’s October 1, 2000, effective date. This estimate reflects the cost of hiring two
administrative specialists to process an estimated 3,000 license suspensions and revocations.
It includes salaries, fringe benefits, one-time start-up costs, and ongoing operating expenses.

Salaries and Fringe Benefits $53,200
Operating Expenses 10,700
Total FY 2001 State Expenditures $63,900

Future year expenditures reflect (1) full salaries with 4.5% annual increases and 3%
employee turnover; and (2) 1% annual increases in ongoing operating expenses.

It costs the MV A approximately $92 in reimbursable funds to the Office of Administrative
Hearings for each MVA hearing. The number of additional hearings that may be held to
contest license suspensions is uncertain. To the extent that individuals with suspended
licenses request hearings, TTF expenditures could increase.

The MV A advises that computer programming expenditures could increase by an estimated
$30,000 to modify the computer programs to reflect cumulative point assessments. The
Department of Legislative Services (DLS) advises that if other legislation is passed requiring
computer reprogramming changes, economies of scale could be realized. This would reduce
computer programming costs associated with this bill and other legislation affecting the
MVA system. Further, DLS advises that the increased computer expenditure is simply an
estimate and the MVA may be able to handle the changes either with less money than it
estimates or with existing resources.

The imprisonment penalty provision of this bill is not expected to significantly affect State
expenditures or operations.
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Additional Information

Prior Introductions: A similar bill was introduced in the 1999 session as SB 710 and was
not reported from the House Commerce and Government Matters Committee.

Cross File: None.

Information Source(s): Maryland Department of Transportation (Motor Vehicle
Administration), Department of Legislative Services

Fiscal Note History: First Reader - March 3, 2000
nncsjr

Analysis by:  Jody J. Minnich Direct Inquiries to:
John Rixey, Coordinating Analyst
(410) 946-5510
(301) 970-5510
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