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Vehicle Law - Vehicle Transfers - Continued Use of
Registration Plates

This departmental bill allows the same registration plates to be used after either (1) a transfer
of title from joint names of a parent and child to the individual name of either party; (2) a
transfer of title from an individual parent or child to joint names of the parent and child; or
(3) a transfer from the name of an individual to the name of a child or parent of that
individual. There would be no new registration fee for the transfer of title in those cases.

. ______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________|
Fiscal Summary

State Effect: Transportation Trust Fund (TTF) revenue and Maryland Emergency Medical
System Operations Fund revenue would decrease by an estimated $8,400 in FY 2001. Future
years reflect annualization and a constant rate of title transfers. Expenditures would not be
affected.

(in dollars) FY 2001 FY 2002 FY 2003 FY 2004 FY 2005
SF Revenues ($8,400) ($11,200) ($11,200) ($11,200) ($11,200)
SF Expenditures 0 0 0 0 0
Net Effect ($8,400) ($11,200) ($11,200) ($11,200) ($11,200)

Note: () = decrease; GF = general funds; FF = federal funds; SF = special funds; - =indeterminate effect

Local Effect: Revenues would decrease by an estimated $2,500 in FY 2001 and $3,400 in
each year thereafter.

Small Business Effect: The Department of Transportation has determined that this bill has
minimal or no impact on small business (attached). Legislative Services concurs with this
assessment. (The attached assessment does not reflect amendments to the bill.)



Analysis

Current Law: Transfers of this kind are currently allowed for spouses free of the charges
for new registration or the excise tax. Vehicle transfers, however, are subject to a transfer fee
of $8. Title transfers involving parent and child as specified in the bill are only exempt from
the excise tax. In effect, such transfers are treated as the termination of one registration and
the beginning of another registration. Title holders with over a year remaining on their initial
registrations may be refunded a year’s fee, or $35. Portions of a year over or under one year
are not refunded.

Background: The bill is addressing a recurring complaint of title holders who wish to
transfer a title from a child to a parent title or vice versa. For example, a parent must
terminate a registration before transferring it to a joint title of parent and child. In many
cases, there is time left on that registration that cannot be refunded under current law. In
such cases, there is at least a portion of a year in which the registration fee is paid twice.

The $70 motor vehicle registration fee is charged on a biennial basis. The fee is split $16 to
the Maryland Emergency Medical System Operations Fund to benefit Med-Evac services and
$54 to the Gasoline and Motor Vehicle Revenue Account (GMVRA). The GMVRA is a
shared revenue source, of which 70% is allocated to the TTF and 30% is allocated to the
local jurisdictions.

State Revenues: It is estimated that there are 1,800 vehicle registration transfers per year
between parent and child as specified in the bill. Under the bill, such transfers would be
allowed under the initial registration. There would no longer be a loss to the title holder in
lost months on the original registration. However, the Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA)
would lose the revenue associated with those months.

For illustrative purposes, assume a parent wants to transfer a vehicle to a joint title with a
child. The registration is still valid for another 18 months. Under current law, the parent
terminates the registration and receives a $35 refund on the remaining year of the registration
(there are no refunds for over a year remaining). Six months of the remaining time would not
be refunded. The child pays a new $70 registration fee that applies for the following two
years.

Under the provisions of the bill, the MV A would charge the parent an $8 transfer fee and

would transfer the remaining 18 months of the registration to the child. In 18 months, the
registration would be due for renewal instead of in two years, under current law. There
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would be no six-month overlap. The loss to the MV A associated with that lack of overlap is
estimated at $28,875 per year, assuming a constant number of parent/child transfers.
However, because the MV A charges an $8 fee for registration transfers, the loss is offset by
$14,400 annually.

Based on the distribution of registration fees between the State and local jurisdictions, and
accounting for the October 1 start date of the bill, State revenue would decrease by $8,400 in
fiscal 2001 and $11,200 in each year thereafter. The State’s share of the annualized loss
would be split between the Maryland Emergency Medical System Operations Fund ($3,300)
and the TTF ($7,900).

Local Revenues: The GMVRA is distributed 70% to the TTF and 30% to local
jurisdictions. The local distribution is split with Baltimore City receiving the greater of
$157,500,000 or 11.5% and the remainder distributed to the 23 counties and then shared with
municipal corporations within each county. Itis assumed that this bill would result in a total
loss to the jurisdictions of about $3,400 annually after an initial year loss of $2,500.

Additional Information
Prior Introductions: None.
Cross File: None.

Information Source(s): Maryland Department of Transportation (Motor Vehicle
Administration), Department of Legislative Services
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