Unofficial Copy

2001 Regular Session 1lr2312

By: Delegate Valderrama

Introduced and read first time: February 7, 2001 Assigned to: Commerce and Government Matters

## HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION

1	Α	House	Joint	Resolution	concerning

- 2 Congratulations to President Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo of the Republic of the Philippines
- 4 FOR the purpose of expressing congratulations to President Gloria
- 5 Macapagal-Arroyo of the Republic of the Philippines.
- 6 WHEREAS, As a former commonwealth of the United States, the Republic of the
- 7 Philippines bases its form of government on that of the United States; and
- 8 WHEREAS, The Philippines government is so closely tied to that of the United
- 9 States that the recent trial of former President Josef Estrada and the swearing in of
- 10 new Philippines President Arroyo mirror the recent history of the United States with
- 11 President Clinton and President Bush; and
- 12 WHEREAS, The Philippines has struggled to maintain democracy in the past;
- 13 and
- 14 WHEREAS, The events leading to the elevation of Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo to
- 15 the Presidency of the Republic of the Philippines illuminate prospects for the peaceful
- 16 transfer of power; and
- 17 WHEREAS, President Arroyo's efforts to champion the cause of democracy and
- 18 to lead 76 million Filipinos is a testament to "people power"; now, therefore, be it
- 19 RESOLVED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF MARYLAND, That in honor of
- 20 her ascension to the Presidency of the Republic of the Philippines, and of her
- 21 steadfast and ardent support of grass roots democracy, the Maryland General
- 22 Assembly congratulates President Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo on her commitment to
- 23 the peaceful transfer of power; and be it further
- 24 RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be forwarded by the Department of
- 25 Legislative Services to the Honorable Parris N. Glendening, Governor of Maryland;
- 26 the Honorable Thomas V. Mike Miller, Jr., President of the Senate of Maryland; and
- 27 the Honorable Casper R. Taylor, Jr., Speaker of the House of Delegates; and be it
- 28 further

- 1 RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be forwarded by the Department of
- 2 Legislative Services to the Maryland Congressional Delegation: Senators Paul S.
- 3 Sarbanes and Barbara A. Mikulski, Senate Office Building, Washington, D.C. 20510;
- 4 and Representatives Wayne T. Gilchrest, Robert L. Ehrlich, Jr., Benjamin L. Cardin,
- 5 Albert R. Wynn, Steny Hamilton Hoyer, Roscoe G. Bartlett, Elijah E. Cummings, and
- 6 Constance A. Morella, House Office Building, Washington, D.C. 20515.