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  Health Insurance - Hearing Aids - Coverage for Children 
 

 
This bill requires a health insurer, nonprofit health service plan, or HMO (carrier) to 
provide coverage for a hearing aid (up to $1,400 per aid) for a covered child if the 
hearing aid is prescribed, fitted, and dispensed by a licensed audiologist.  A carrier must 
provide coverage for replacement hearing aids for the child at least once every three 
years. 
 
The bill’s requirements apply to all policies, contracts, and health benefit plans issued, 
delivered, or renewed in the State on or after October 1, 2001.  Any policy, contract, or 
health benefit plan in effect before October 1, 2001, shall comply with the bill’s 
requirements by October 1, 2002. 
  
 

Fiscal Summary 
 
State Effect:  Expenditures for the State Employee Health Benefits Plan could increase 
by a minimal amount.  Minimal general fund revenue increase from the State’s 2% 
insurance premium tax on for-profit carriers. Minimal special fund revenue increase for 
the Maryland Insurance Administration from the $125 rate and form filing fee.  No effect 
on Medicaid. 
  
Local Effect:  Expenditures for local jurisdiction employee health benefits could increase 
depending upon the current type of health care coverage offered and number of enrollees.  
Any increase is expected to be negligible.  Revenues would not be affected. 
  
Small Business Effect:  Potential minimal.  
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Analysis 
 
Current Law:  Coverage for hearing aids or audiologist services are not mandated 
benefits. 
 
Background:  Approximately 9% of children have some type of hearing loss.  About 
30% of those, or 2.7% of children, will be treated with a hearing aid.  Because children 
are growing, they are usually fitted with a behind-the-ear hearing aid that costs between 
$500 and $750. 
 
Hearing aids are classified by size and circuit type.  Sizes range from the largest (behind-
the-ear models) to the smallest (completely-in-the-canal models).  Circuit types range 
from Class A (the first amplifier introduced in hearing aids) to the new Digital Circuit.  
Some newer versions of hearing aids are programmable.  Price estimates vary widely 
($500 - $6,000 per hearing aid) depending on the type of device used. 
 
According to the 2000 mandated health benefits report of the Maryland Health Care 
Commission (MHCC), insurance premiums may increase by 0.1% as a result of this bill.  
Since the newborn hearing screening law (Chapter 127 of 1999) has been in effect for 
one year, earlier detection of hearing loss may prompt hearing aid usage at an earlier age.   
Earlier usage may minimally increase insurance costs. 
 
State Fiscal Effect:  State Employee Health Benefits Plan expenditures could increase by 
a minimal amount beginning in fiscal 2002.  The State plan currently provides coverage 
for hearings aids, every three years, for its enrollees.  The plan covers the cost of one 
standard model hearing aid up to $625, or two hearing aids up to $1,250.  The State has 
both self-insured and fully-insured health plans.  The State is not required to cover 
mandated benefits under its self-insured plans, but it has generally done so in the past. 
 
Self-insured plans.  While the State plan provides some coverage for hearing aids, the 
cost of hearing aids ranges from $500 - $6,000 and often would not be fully reimbursed 
under the State plan.  According to MHCC’s report, the average cost of hearing aids for 
children is $750 per aid.  The State plan had six claims for hearing aids in calendar 2000 
and projects seven claims in calendar 2001.  Accordingly, State expenditures per hearing 
aid would increase by approximately $125. 
 
Fully-insured plans.  Any increase in premiums for the State’s fully-insured plans is 
assumed to be negligible, based on the State plan’s current coverage levels for hearing 
aids. 
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The bill’s requirements do not apply to Medicaid; however, Medicaid currently covers 
hearing aids for children. 
 
Small Business Effect:  Small businesses (2-50 employees) purchase the Comprehensive 
Standard Health Benefit Plan (CSHBP), which is exempt from including mandated 
benefits in its coverage.  All carriers participating in the small business market must sell 
the CSHBP to any small business that applies for it.  A small business may purchase 
riders to expand the covered services.  In addition, MHCC takes mandated benefits into 
consideration when reevaluating the CSHBP benefit package.  Small business health 
insurance costs may increase if carriers increase their premiums as a result of this bill.  
Any increase is expected to be negligible. 
 
 

Additional Information 
 
Prior Introductions:  An identical bill, HB 393, was introduced in the 2000 session.  It 
was reported unfavorably from the House Economic Matters Committee. 
 
Cross File:  SB 615 (Senator Hollinger, et al.) – Finance. 
 
Information Source(s):  Mandated Health Insurance Services Evaluation (December 31, 
2000), Maryland Health Care Commission, Alexander Graham Bell Foundation, League 
for the Hard of Hearing, Coastal Hearing Aid Center, Maryland Insurance 
Administration, Department of Budget and Management (Employee Benefits Division), 
Department of Health and Mental Hygiene (Medicaid, Health Care Commission, Boards 
and Commissions, Community Public Health Administration), Department of Legislative 
Services 
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