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  Alcoholic Beverages - Direct Shipment Permit 
 

 
This bill authorizes the Office of the Comptroller to issue a direct shipment permit to an 
alcoholic beverages manufacturer or wholesaler licensed by another state.  Direct 
shipment permit holders are authorized to ship up to the equivalent of 24 750-milliliter 
containers of alcoholic beverages per month to a Maryland resident who is at least 21 
years old for personal use.  The holder of a permit must ensure that all excise taxes are 
paid for each direct shipment.  The annual fee for the direct shipment permit is $100.       
   
 

Fiscal Summary 
 
State Effect:  General fund revenues would increase by $100 for each direct shipment 
permit issued.  General fund expenditures would increase for printing new applications, 
tax and audit forms, and general distribution of rules and regulations for the direct 
shipment permit.  Any increase in general fund revenues that are collected for alcoholic 
beverages excise taxes from direct shipment holders is assumed to be offset by a decrease 
in alcoholic beverages excise taxes collected from Maryland retailers.  General fund 
revenues would decrease due to lost retail sales and use taxes. 
  
Local Effect:  None.  
  
Small Business Effect:  Potential meaningful.  
  
 

Analysis 
 
Current Law: There is no direct shipment permit for alcoholic beverages in Maryland.          
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Background:  Chapter 616 of 1999 made the act of delivering alcoholic beverages to a 
nonlicensed recipient in Maryland a felony.  The law was enacted in part to combat the 
proliferation of Internet alcoholic beverages sites that allow visitors to pay on-line to 
have alcoholic beverages delivered to their homes.  There were concerns about minors 
acquiring alcoholic beverages through Internet distributors and also about the tax revenue 
that is lost when a manufacturer or wholesaler delivers directly to an individual.  Before 
Chapter 616 of 1999, the act was only a misdemeanor and was rarely enforced. 
 
Maryland wineries and other alcoholic beverage manufacturers are affected by the ban on 
residential deliveries because other states will not allow Maryland products to be shipped 
there if individual Marylanders cannot receive beverages produced in other states.  Wine 
industry groups have recommended that systems be developed to require proof of age at 
delivery and to ensure that the proper taxes are paid. 
 
The equivalent of 24 750-millileter containers of alcoholic beverages is 18 liters.  The 
excise tax on beer is 2.3778 cents per liter, the tax on wine is 10.57 cents per liter, and the 
tax on distilled spirits is 39.63 cents per liter.  Accordingly, the respective tax on 18 liters 
of each beverage is 43 cents for beer, $1.90 for wine, and $7.13 for distilled spirits.  This 
is approximately 29 cents for a case of beer, $1.27 for a case of wine, or $4.76 for a case 
of distilled spirits.            
 
State Fiscal Effect:  The Office of the Comptroller would collect $100 per direct 
shipment permit issued.  It is unknown how many alcoholic beverages manufacturers and 
wholesalers licensed by another state would purchase a direct shipment permit.  The 
direct shipment licensee is required to pay applicable excise taxes to the Comptroller on 
alcoholic beverages shipped to Maryland residents.  Any increase in general fund 
revenues that are collected for alcoholic beverages excise taxes from direct shipment 
holders is assumed to be offset by a decrease in alcoholic beverages excise taxes 
collected from Maryland retailers.  However, general fund revenues would decrease due 
to lost retail sales and use taxes.  Any such decrease cannot be reliably estimated at this 
time. 
 
Although direct shipment permit holders would be restricted to the equivalent of 24 750-
milliliter containers of alcoholic beverages per Maryland resident over the age of 21 per 
month, there is no limit to the number of direct shipment permit holders that a Maryland 
resident over the age of 21 could purchase from.   In addition, it is unknown how many 
Maryland residents over the age of 21 would purchase alcoholic beverages from direct 
shipment permit holders.  
 
Small Business Effect:  Small retail alcoholic beverage licensees in Maryland may be 
negatively impacted if Maryland residents over 21 years old purchase alcoholic 
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beverages from direct shipment permit holders and receive alcoholic beverages by 
delivery instead of in stores or establishments.  Small business wineries and beer 
breweries in Maryland would benefit from the ability to ship directly to residents in other 
states that allow home delivery of alcoholic beverages due to reciprocity agreements.              
 
 

Additional Information 
 
Prior Introductions:  None.        
 
Cross File:  None.     
 
Information Source(s):  Office of the Comptroller (Alcohol and Tobacco Tax Division), 
Department of Legislative Services         
 
Fiscal Note History:  
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