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Environmental Matters     
 

  Hunting Licenses - Private Farmland - Exception for Relatives 
 

   
This bill provides an exemption from obtaining a hunter’s license for hunting on 
farmland to the owner of the farmland’s stepchildren, adopted children, and 
grandchildren, including the stepchildren and adopted children of the owner’s children, 
stepchildren, and adopted children.  The bill also clarifies the existing exemptions for the 
spouses of a farm owner’s children or, if living on the farmland, the spouses of a tenant’s 
children. 
 
The bill takes effect June 1, 2001. 
   
 

Fiscal Summary 
 
State Effect:  Potential decrease in special fund revenues beginning in FY 2002 and 
federal fund revenues beginning in FY 2004.  No effect on expenditures. 
  
Local Effect:  None. 
  
Small Business Effect:  None. 
  
 

Analysis 
 
Current Law:  An owner of farmland and the owner’s spouse, children, and children’s 
spouse are not required to obtain a hunter’s license to hunt on the farmland.  A tenant and 
the tenant’s spouse, children, and if residing on the farmland, children’s spouse, are also 
exempt from obtaining a hunter’s license to hunt on farmland.  Any resident serving in 
the armed forces of the U. S. under specified conditions, and any unarmed person 
participating in an organized foxhunt are also exempt from obtaining a license to hunt. 
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License fees are as follows:  (1) for a resident under the age of 16 years: a basic hunting 
license, $6.50/consolidated hunting license, $15.50; (2) for a resident, between 16 years 
and 65 years: basic hunting license, $15.50/consolidated hunting license, $24.50; (3) for a 
senior consolidated lifetime license for residents at least 65 years old, $12.50; (4) for a 
nonresident basic license, $120.50; (5) for a nonresident basic hunting license for 
residents of Delaware, Pennsylvania, Virginia, and West Virginia, $83.00 or the fee 
charged by that state for a similar basic hunting license, whichever is greater; and (6) for 
a nonresident three-day hunting license, $35.00.  All fees are paid into the Wildlife 
Management and Protection Fund. 
 
Background:  In fiscal 2000, the Department of Natural Resources (DNR) issued 
approximately 128,000 hunting licenses and collected approximately $4 million in 
associated fees.  DNR advises that it does not know how many people are exempted from 
the license requirement under current law.  DNR receives federal funds under the Federal 
Aid in Wildlife Restoration Act that is based in part on the number of licensed hunters in 
the State. 
 
State Revenues:  The number of people currently exempt from obtaining a license to 
hunt on farmland is unknown.  DNR advises that this bill will result in an indeterminate 
but potentially significant number of additional exemptions from the requirement to 
obtain a license to hunt on farmland.  Because the number of additional exemptions is 
unknown, a precise estimate of the decrease in special fund revenues cannot be made at 
this time.  In any event, hunting license fees range from $6.50 to $120.50. 
 
The Department of Legislative Services advises, however, that many of the people who 
would be eligible for an exemption under this bill would choose to buy a license anyway 
in order to hunt on other lands in the State.  Further, the expanded exemption in some 
instances will apply to people who otherwise would not have hunted because of the 
license requirement. 
 
Federal fund revenues would also decrease if the number of licensed hunters in the State 
decreases.  DNR provides a certification to the federal government each fiscal year on the 
number of licensed hunters from the previous fiscal year.  Based on that data and the land 
area of the State, a federal apportionment of funds is calculated for the next federal fiscal 
year.  Accordingly, if the number of licensed hunters decreases in State fiscal 2002, 
federal fund revenues will not be affected until federal fiscal 2004 which coincides with 
State fiscal 2004.  Federal law, however, provides a minimum apportionment to all States 
of at least 3% of the total federal funds available. 
 
On the other hand, expanding the exemption could potentially introduce additional people 
to hunting in the State, which could mitigate any loss resulting from expanding the 
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exemption.  To the extent that the bill results in more licensed hunters in the future, 
special fund revenues and federal funds will increase accordingly. 
 
 

Additional Information 
 
Prior Introductions:  Similar legislation was introduced during the 2000 session as HB 
398.  The bill received an unfavorable report by the House Environmental Matters 
Committee.   
 
Cross File:  None.     
 
Information Source(s):  Department of Natural Resources, Department of Legislative 
Services         
 
Fiscal Note History:  
cm/cer 
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