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Vehicle Laws - Aggressive Driving - Penalties

This bill establishes the offense of aggressive driving. A person is guilty of aggressive
driving if that person exceeds the speed limit and also commits two or more specified
offenses at the same time or during a single and continuous period of driving. Violators
are subject to afine of up to $500 or imprisonment of up to two months. In addition, five
points are assessed on the violator’ s driving record.

Fiscal Summary

State Effect: Minimal increases in general fund fine revenue and special fund
expenditures due to additional license suspensions, administrative hearings, and computer
programming.

Local Effect: The criminal penalty provisions of this bill are not expected to materially
affect local finances or operations.

Small Business Effect: Minimal. To the extent that drivers accumulate additional points
on their driving records, small businesses that provide driver improvement programs may
experience a small increase in business.




Analysis

Current Law: There is no offense for aggressive driving under the Maryland Vehicle
Law. However, recklessdriving is defined as driving in awanton or willful disregard for
the safety of persons or property. Further, negligent driving is defined as driving in a
careless or imprudent manner that endangersthe life or property of any individual.

Background: In 1997 the Federal Highway Administration awarded a $400,000 grant to
the Maryland State Police to test advanced speed detection devices and high-resolution
digital cameras that would detect and record aggressive driving and other traffic
violations. Warnings are sent to the offending drivers but no fines are imposed under the
pilot program.

In fiscal 2000 there were over 390,000 citations issued for offenses listed in the hill, of
which over 203,000 drivers either prepaid the fine or were convicted in court.

In 2000, 19 states introduced atotal of 36 aggressive driving bills, and so far this year 8
states have 14 bills under consideration. Most of these hills attempted to define
aggressive driving offenses and to establish penalties for them. Some specify
characteristics of aggressive drivers, or give those convicted of the offense certain
additional penalties. Arizona became the first state to adopt an aggressive driving law in
1998. In 1999, Delaware and Nevada enacted similar laws. The Delaware law provides
that drivers are guilty of aggressive driving if convicted of three or more specific traffic
offenses resulting from a single incident. Offenders are required to attend behavior
modification courses.

State Effect: General fund revenue could increase from the penalty provision applicable
to this offense under the Maryland Vehicle Law (maximum $500 fine). Any increase is
assumed to be minimal. The imprisonment penalty provision of this bill is not expected
to significantly affect State expenditures or operations.

The Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) suspends the driver’s licenses of individuals
who accumulate eight points on their driving records. The bill establishes aggressive
driving as a five-point offense. Transportation Trust Fund (TTF) expenditures could
increase minimally to the extent that the MVA would be required to mail additional
suspension letters to those individuals that accumulate a certain number of points due to
aggressive driving convictions.

It costs the MVA approximately $92 in reimbursable funds to the Office of
Administrative Hearings for each MV A hearing. The number of additional hearings that
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may be held to contest license suspensions is uncertain. To the extent that individuals
with suspended licenses request hearings, TTF expenditures could increase.

The MVA advises that computer programming expenditures could increase by an
estimated $10,000 to modify the computer programs to allow for a new violation code.
The Department of Legidative Services (DLS) advises that if other legislation is passed
requiring computer reprogramming changes, economies of scale could be realized. This
would reduce computer programming costs associated with this bill and other legislation
affecting the MVA system. Further, DLS advises that the increased computer
expenditure is simply an estimate and the MV A may be able to handle the changes with
either less money than it estimates or existing resources.

Additional | nfor mation

Prior Introductions. This bill was introduced in the 2000 session as SB 217 and in the
1999 session as SB 710. SB 217 passed the Senate but received an unfavorable report
from the House Judiciary Committee. SB 710 passed the Senate but was not reported
from the House Commerce and Government Matters Committee.

CrossFile: SB 113 (Senator Baker, et al.) — Judicial Proceedings.

Information Source(s):  Nationa Conference of State Legislatures, Maryland
Department of Transportation (Motor Vehicle Administration), Department of
Legislative Services
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