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This bill expands the graduated license system (GLS) by prohibiting a provisional license 
holder under age 18 from driving a vehicle if the driver and each passenger are not 
restrained by a seat belt (unless a medical exception applies).  Violators may have their 
license suspended or revoked by the Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA). 
 
The bill does not apply to individuals who hold a provisional license on September 30, 
2001 if the license is not revoked or invalidated. 
   
 

Fiscal Summary 
 
State Effect:  Potential minimal increase in Transportation Trust Fund (TTF) 
expenditures for administrative hearings and computer programming.  Potential minimal 
increase in general fund revenue from increased violations of a provisional license 
restriction (applicable under the Maryland Vehicle Law).   
  
Local Effect:  None. 
  
Small Business Effect:  None.  
  
 

Analysis 
 
Current Law: Under the GLS, a licensee may not drive unsupervised between 12 
midnight and 5:00 a.m. unless accompanied and supervised by a licensed driver who is at 
least 21 years old or is driving to or from:  (1) employment; (2) a school class or official 
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school activity; (3) an organized volunteer activity; or (4) an athletic event or related 
training session.  
 
All drivers and passengers are required to wear seat belts in the front seat of a vehicle.  
Additionally, any passenger under age 16, regardless of where seated, must be restrained 
by either a seat belt or child safety seat.  
 
Background:  The General Assembly established the provisional drivers’ licensing 
system in 1998 (HB 527, Chapter 483) and the program became effective July 1, 1999.  
The proposed seat belt restrictions in this bill were recommended by the Graduated 
Licensing Initiative Work Group.  However, the restrictions were not included in the final 
version of HB 527.   
 
According to the National Conference of State Legislatures, 37 states have enacted some 
form of a graduated license.  California was the first state to impose passenger 
restrictions as part of its graduated licensing system.  Eight other states now impose some 
kind of passenger restriction and five states (Illinois, Minnesota, North Carolina, Ohio, 
and Rhode Island) limit the number of passengers to the number of seat belts in the car. 
Studies by the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety show that teenage drivers are at 
much greater risk of being involved in a fatal crash when teen passengers are present than 
when driving alone or with an adult.   
 
State Revenues:  The MVA advises that approximately 750 GLS violations occur each 
year. There is a $50 fine (established by the District Court) for driving a vehicle in 
violation of a license restriction.  General fund revenues could increase to the extent that 
more violations occur and more tickets are issued. 
 
State Expenditures:  The MVA advises that upon any violation of this restriction, it will 
notify violators that their license will be suspended unless the licensee requests an 
administrative hearing.  Such hearings cost $92 to administer.  Other expenses include 
postage for notifying offenders of suspensions or referrals to the driver improvement 
program and $50,000 to modify the computer system to reflect the new restriction on 
provisional licenses.  The Department of Legislative Services (DLS) notes that other bills 
may also require computer programming changes and that economies of scale can be 
realized.  To the extent that the number of hearing requests increases, TTF expenditures 
will increase.  Further, DLS advises that the increased computer expenditure is simply an 
estimate and the MVA may be able to handle the changes with either less money than it 
estimates or with existing resources. 
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Additional Information 
 
Prior Introductions:  An identical bill was introduced as SB 152 in the 2000 session and 
received an unfavorable report by the Judicial Proceedings Committee.  
 
Cross File:  None.    
 
Information Source(s):  Maryland Department of Transportation (Motor Vehicle 
Administration), Department of Legislative Services 
 
Fiscal Note History:  
mld/jr 

First Reader – January 24, 2001   
Revised – Senate Third Reader – March 20, 2001 
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