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  Crimes - Physicians - Medical Marijuana - Penalties 
 

   
This bill makes it a misdemeanor for a physician to recommend the use of marijuana for 
medical purposes if the patient is subsequently charged with the unlawful possession of 
marijuana.  Violators are subject to maximum penalties of a fine of $1,000 and/or 
imprisonment for one year. 
   
 

Fiscal Summary 
 
State Effect:  Potential minimal increase in general fund revenues and expenditures due 
to the bill’s penalty provisions.  
  
Local Effect:  Potential minimal increase in expenditures due to the bill’s incarceration 
penalty provision.  Revenues would not be affected. 
  
Small Business Effect:  None. 
  
 

Analysis 
 
Current Law:  Marijuana has been a Schedule I controlled dangerous substance under 
both State and federal drug prohibitions since 1970.  Schedule I drugs are considered to 
have the highest potential for abuse and offenses involving these drugs are generally 
treated as more serious than those involving substances on the other four schedules.  
However, violators of prohibitions against simple possession or use of marijuana are 
subject to maximum misdemeanor penalties of a fine of $1,000 and/or imprisonment for 
one year.  Violations of provisions relating to the manufacture, sale, or distribution of 
Schedule I drugs are subject to more severe penalties. 
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An oral form of marijuana’s principal active ingredient, delta-9-tetrahydrocannabinol 
(THC), called dronabinol, is approved as a treatment for nausea and vomiting related to 
cancer chemotherapy.  Dronabinol also is used to stimulate the appetite of AIDS patients.  
             
The District of Columbia had a medical marijuana use initiative on the ballot in 
November 1998, but a Congressional amendment on the appropriations bill for the 
District kept the results of the vote from being counted or announced by the Board of 
Elections until recently.  A federal judge ordered the results to be counted, certified, and 
released.  The initiative was approved by 69% of the voters.  
 
Six states have passed medical marijuana laws.  They are Alaska, Arizona, California, 
Nevada, Oregon, and Washington. Arizona and California voters approved medical 
marijuana laws in 1996.  Voters in Alaska, Nevada, Oregon, and Washington approved 
laws in 1998.  Arizona voters reaffirmed their medical marijuana law in 1998.  Nevada 
voters must re-approve their proposal in the year 2000 before it can officially become 
law. 
 
In all, 23 states have some current statute relating to the medical use of marijuana. 
Virginia, Connecticut, Vermont, and New Hampshire are among the states that have 
authorized doctors to prescribe marijuana.    
 
All of these laws are now dormant because they conflict with federal law, or are reliant 
on the federal government to supply the state with marijuana, and federal officials are no 
longer supplying marijuana to states.   
 
The statutes passed in Alaska, Oregon, Nevada, and Washington exempt patients from 
criminal penalties when they use marijuana under the supervision of a physician.  In 1999 
voters in Arizona reaffirmed a medical marijuana initiative passed two years ago, and 
rejected a legislative requirement banning physicians from prescribing marijuana until the 
drug receives approval from the Food and Drug Administration. 
 
State Revenues:  General fund revenues could increase minimally as a result of the bill’s 
monetary penalty provision from cases heard in the District Court. 
 
State Expenditures:  General fund expenditures could increase minimally as a result of 
the bill’s incarceration penalty due to increased payments to counties for reimbursement 
of inmate costs and more people being committed to Division of Correction (DOC) 
facilities.  The number of people convicted of this proposed crime is expected to be 
minimal. 
 
Persons serving a sentence of one year or less in a jurisdiction other than Baltimore City 
are sentenced to a local detention facility.  The State reimburses counties for part of their 
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incarceration costs, on a per diem basis, after a person has served 90 days.  State per diem 
reimbursements for fiscal 2002 are estimated to range from $9 to $52 per inmate 
depending upon the jurisdiction.  Persons sentenced to such a term in Baltimore City are 
generally incarcerated in a DOC facility.  Currently, the DOC average total cost per 
inmate, including overhead, is estimated at $1,700 per month.  This bill alone, however, 
should not create the need for additional beds, personnel, or facilities.  Excluding 
overhead, the average cost of housing a new DOC inmate (including medical care and 
variable costs) is $288 per month. 
 
Local Expenditures:  Expenditures could increase as a result of the bill’s incarceration 
penalty.  Counties pay the full cost of incarceration for the first 90 days of the sentence, 
plus part of the per diem cost after 90 days.  Per diem operating costs of local detention 
facilities are expected to range from $17 to $77 per inmate in fiscal 2002. 
 
 

Additional Information 
 
Prior Introductions:  None.       
 
Cross File:  None.      
 
Information Source(s):  Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services 
(Division of Correction), Department of Legislative Services         
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