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Economic Matters     Finance  
 

  Insurance - Premium Financing 
 

  
This bill requires an agent, broker, or premium finance company to send a copy or other 
notice of a premium finance agreement to a surplus lines broker if:  (1) the policy is 
procured through a surplus lines broker licensed in the State; and (2) the payment is not 
made directly to the surplus lines broker or the insurer.  The bill specifies the time frames 
within which a premium finance company may require an agent or broker who procures 
premium financing to:  (1) send the required notice to the surplus lines broker; and (2) 
provide specified information to the premium finance company.  The bill requires an 
agent or broker to return any gross unearned commissions to an insurer within a 
reasonable period of time as required by the insurer. 
   
 

Fiscal Summary 
 
State Effect:  The bill would not directly affect the operations or finances of the 
Maryland Insurance Administration (MIA).  
 
Local Effect:  None.  
  
Small Business Effect:  Minimal.  
  
 

Analysis 
 
Current Law:  A premium finance company must give a copy of each premium finance 
agreement or other notice that describes the policy or policies involved to the agency 
issuing the policy or policies or to the insurers involved.  A premium finance company 
must give a copy of the premium finance agreement to the insured when the premium 
finance agreement is signed.   
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If insurance is purchased through a premium finance company, when an insurance 
contract is canceled, the insurer must return any gross unearned premiums that are due 
under the insurance contract to a premium finance company for the account of the insured 
within 45 days after:  (1) receipt by the insurer of a notice of cancellation from the 
premium finance company or the insured; (2) the date the insurer cancels the contract; or 
(3) the completion of any payroll audit necessary to determine the amount of premium 
earned while the insurance contract was in force.  The premium finance company must 
then refund to the insured the amount of unearned premium that exceeds any amount due 
to the premium finance company, unless the amount would be less than $5.  An insurer 
that fails to return any premium as required must pay 1% interest per month on the 
unearned premium that has not been returned until it is returned.  An insurer may not 
deduct an amount owned by the insured under another insurance contract from any return 
premium. 
 
Background:  MIA advises that premium finance companies do not know whether a 
surplus lines broker is involved in an insurance transaction unless informed by the 
originating agent.  Under the bill, premium finance companies would be required to 
contact the originating agent to determine whether a surplus lines broker processed the 
policy.         
 
 

Additional Information 
 
Prior Introductions:  None.     
 
Cross File:  None.    
 
Information Source(s):  Maryland Automobile Insurance Fund, Maryland Insurance 
Administration, Department of Legislative Services         
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