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  Vehicle Laws - License Restriction for a Minor - Prohibition Against Minors as 
Passengers 

 

  
This bill prohibits a licensed driver under the age of 18 from driving with a passenger 
under the age of 18 (except specified relatives) for 180 days after the driver’s license is 
issued.  A police officer may only enforce this provision as a secondary violation (i.e., it 
cannot be the primary cause for stopping a motorist). 
   
 

Fiscal Summary 
 
State Effect:  Increase in Transportation Trust Fund (TTF) expenditures of $45,700 in 
FY 2002.  Future years reflect annualization and inflation, as well as a constant rate of 
license issuance.  Potential minimal increase in general fund revenues due to the penalty 
provision applicable to this offense under the Maryland Vehicle Law (maximum $500 
fine).   
  

(in dollars) FY 2002 FY 2003 FY 2004 FY 2005 FY 2006 
GF Revenue - - - - - 
SF Expenditure 45,700 61,500 62,100 62,700 63,400 
Net Effect ($45,700) ($61,500) ($62,100) ($62,700) ($63,400) 

Note:() = decrease; GF = general funds; FF = federal funds; SF = special funds; - = indeterminate effect 

 
Local Effect:  Enforcement could be handled with existing resources.  
  
Small Business Effect:  None. 
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Analysis 
 
Current Law:  There are no restrictions on the number of passengers in a vehicle except 
in cases where the passengers obstruct the view of the driver or interfere with the control 
of the driver over the vehicle.          
 
State Revenues:  Potential minimal increase in general fund revenues due to the penalty 
provision applicable to this offense under the Maryland Vehicle Law (maximum $500 
fine).  Because the violation can only be enforced as a secondary violation and the 
number of drivers under 18 is a small percentage of the driving population, any such 
increase is assumed to be minimal.          
 
State Expenditures:  The Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) issues approximately 
42,000 provisional driver’s licenses each year.  The restriction provided by the bill would 
be in effect for the first six months of the one-year term of the provisional license.  The 
MVA would need to reissue the provisional license after six months to remove the 
restriction.  Reissuing a license costs the MVA approximately $1.45 for supplies.  
Assuming that 42,000 licenses will be reissued, TTF expenditures will increase by 
$60,900 per year (plus inflation), after an initial loss of $45,700 in fiscal 2002, which 
accounts for the bill’s October 1 effective date. 
 
Additionally, the MVA estimates that the bill will result in contractual employee costs of 
$37,855 in fiscal 2002 and $46,010 in the following years to reissue the provisional 
licenses in order to remove the restriction.  However, the Department of Legislative 
Services (DLS) advises that it is possible that some of the additional work could be 
performed without hiring additional employees.  DLS also notes that the MVA’s 
workload varies by location. Implementation of the bill would place a greater burden on 
local branches in metropolitan areas that serve large populations, which may require 
additional resources in the future.  
 
The MVA advises that computer programming expenditures could increase by an 
estimated $10,000 to add a new restriction code.  DLS advises that if other legislation is 
passed requiring computer reprogramming changes, economies of scale could be realized.  
This would reduce computer programming costs associated with this bill and other 
legislation affecting the MVA system.  Further, DLS advises that the increased computer 
expenditure is simply an estimate and the MVA may be able to handle the changes with 
either less money than it estimates or existing resources.  
 
Enforcement could be performed with existing resources.        
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Additional Information 
 
Prior Introductions:  An identical bill was introduced as SB 404 in the 2000 session and 
SB 597 in the 1999 session.  Both received an unfavorable report from the Judicial 
Proceedings Committee.    
 
Cross File:  None.    
 
Information Source(s):  Maryland Department of Transportation (Motor Vehicle 
Administration), Department of State Police, Department of Legislative Services         
 
Fiscal Note History:  
ncs/jr 
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