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Washington County - Alcoholic Beverages - Caterer's License

This bill authorizes the Washington County Board of License Commissioners to issue a
caterer’s license that alows a caterer to keep for sale and sell or provide acoholic
beverages at a catered event. The license fee is set at $500. To qualify for a caterer’s
license, an applicant: (1) must have facilities to prepare food and deliver food to the site
of the catered event; (2) must obtain approval of the facilities from the county board of
health; (3) may not hold any other license in Washington County; and (4) need not have a
banquet hall. Additionally, a caterer’s licensee: (1) may operate the same days and hours
as a Class B beer, wine, liquor license; (2) must purchase all acoholic beverages from a
wholesaler or retailer licensed to sell alcoholic beverages in Washington County; (3)
must contract for and provide food as well as alcoholic beverages at the catered event; (4)
must have at least one individual on site who has been certified by an alcohol awareness
program licensed by the Comptroller; and (5) must return all containers that are not
empty to the licensee's principal place of business at the end of the event. The caterer
may not hold a self-sponsored event or provide only alcoholic beverages at a catered
event.

The bill is effective June 1, 2001.

Fiscal Summary
State Effect: None.
Local Effect: Washington County revenues would increase by $500 for each caterer’s

license issued. Issuing and monitoring caterer’s licenses could be handled with existing
resources.



Small Business Effect: Potential meaningful.

Analysis

Current Law: Thereis no caterer’s acoholic beverages license in Washington County.
Class B beer, wine, and liquor licensees may operate from 6:00 am. to 2:00 am. the
following day every day of the week.

Local Fiscal Effect: Washington County revenues could increase by $500 for each
caterer’s license issued. Washington County anticipates that six businesses would apply
for the caterer’ slicense, resulting in a $3,000 annual increase in county revenues.

Small Business Effect: This bill allows existing caterers to serve alcoholic beverages.
Currently, only six caterers in Washington County are expected to obtain a caterer’s
license under the bill’s provisions, but other businesses may be encouraged to enter the
market as a result of the bill. The minimal increase in competition may have a dlight
impact on current caterers in Washington County.

Additional I nfor mation
Prior Introductions. None.
CrossFile: None.
I nfor mation Sour ce(s): Washington County, Department of Legislative Services
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