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Disclosures 

 

   
This bill requires a local law enforcement agency to send a copy of the registration 
statement for each sexual offender registrant on record with the law enforcement agency 
to a person who has submitted a written request. 
   
 

Fiscal Summary 
 
State Effect:  Minimal.  The bill’s requirements would not have any measurable effect 
on State operations or finances. 
  
Local Effect:  Minimal.  The bill’s requirements would not have any measurable effect 
on local governmental operations or finances.  For some jurisdictions, this bill codifies 
current practice. 
  
Small Business Effect:  None. 
  
 

Analysis 
 
Current Law:  A local law enforcement agency is required to send a copy of each 
registration statement of a “child sexual offender” and “sexually violent predator” to an 
individual who submits a written request that includes the individual’s name, address, and 
reason for the request.  The local law enforcement agency is allowed, but not required, to 
include registration statements of “offenders” and “sexually violent offenders.”         
Background:  Maryland first enacted its version of Megan’s Law during the 1995 
session (Chapter 142 of the Acts of 1995).  Current law requires the registration of:  (1) 
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all child sexual offenders convicted of offenses occurring after October 1, 1995; and (2) 
all other “registrants” to whom the registration requirements apply who were convicted of 
offenses occurring on or after July 1, 1997. 
 
The following classifications of offenders are registrants subject to the State’s Megan’s 
Law: 
 
(1) a “child sexual offender,” defined as a person convicted of child sexual abuse; first 

or second degree rape or first, second, or third degree sexual offense involving a 
child under the age of 15 years; or fourth degree sexual offense involving an 
individual under the age of 15 years if ordered to register by the court; 

 
(2) an “offender,” defined as a person convicted of abducting or kidnaping a person 

under 18; child pornography; soliciting a minor to engage in sexual conduct;  
prostitution or pandering if the intended prostitute is under the age of 18; a fourth 
degree sexual offense if the victim is under the age of 18; or an attempt to commit 
any of these offenses; 

 
(3) a “sexually violent offender,” defined as a person who is convicted of a sexually 

violent offense or an attempt to commit a sexually violent offense; and 
 
(4) a “sexually violent predator,” defined as a person who has been convicted of a 

subsequent sexually violent offense and designated by the sentencing court as a 
sexually violent predator (at risk of committing a subsequent sexually violent 
offense). 

 
For the purposes of the statute, “sexually violent offense” means first or second degree 
rape; first, second, or third degree sexual offense; an attempt to commit first or second 
degree rape or sexual offense; and assault with intent to commit rape or sexual offense in 
the first or second degree.  Also, a conviction includes a finding of not criminally 
responsible or, if the court orders registration, a probation before judgment.  The 
registration requirements also apply to individuals convicted of similar offenses in other 
jurisdictions if they move to, work in, or go to school in the State. 
 
Under current Maryland law, all child sexual offenders convicted after October 1, 1995, 
and all other registrants convicted of offenses committed on or after July 1, 1997, are 
subject to the registration requirements after release from custody. A release includes 
release on parole, mandatory supervision, work release, and any type of temporary leave 
other than leave granted on a emergency basis.   
 
There are currently about 1,300 persons in the registry. 
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Additional Information 
 
Prior Introductions:  HB 289 of 2000 received an unfavorable report by the House 
Judiciary Committee.       
 
Cross File:  None.     
 
Information Source(s):  Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services 
(Division of Correction), Allegany County, Montgomery County, Prince George’s 
County, Department of Legislative Services         
 
Fiscal Note History:  
ef/jr 

First Reader – March 2, 2001   
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