Unofficial Copy

2002 Regular Session 2lr1505

By: Delegates Moe, Bozman, Conway, Glassman, Malone, Parrott, Stull, and W. Baker

Introduced and read first time: January 23, 2002 Assigned to: Commerce and Government Matters

HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION

1	Α	House	Joint	Resolution	concerning

2 **Memorializing Fallen Firefighters**

- 3 FOR the purpose of memorializing fallen firefighters by lowering the American flag
- 4 and the Maryland State flag to half-staff in honor of the National Fallen
- 5 Firefighters Memorial Service in Emmitsburg, Maryland.
- 6 WHEREAS, 1,200,000 men and women comprise the American fire and
- 7 emergency services; and
- 8 WHEREAS, The fire and emergency services is considered one of the most
- 9 dangerous jobs in the United States; and
- WHEREAS, Fire and emergency services personnel respond to over 16 million
- 11 emergency calls annually, without reservation and with little regard for their
- 12 personal safety; and
- WHEREAS, Fire and emergency services personnel are the first to respond to
- 14 an emergency, whether it involves a fire, medical emergency, spill of hazardous
- 15 materials, natural disaster, act of terrorism, or transportation accident; and
- WHEREAS, Approximately one-third of all active fire and emergency personnel
- 17 suffer debilitating injuries annually; and
- WHEREAS, Approximately 100 fire and emergency services personnel die
- 19 annually in the line of duty; now, therefore, be it
- 20 RESOLVED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF MARYLAND, That each year,
- 21 the American flags and the Maryland State flags on all State office buildings shall be
- 22 lowered to half-staff in honor of the National Fallen Firefighters Memorial Service in
- 23 Emmitsburg, Maryland; and be it further
- 24 RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be forwarded by the Department of
- 25 Legislative Services to the Honorable Parris N. Glendening, Governor of Maryland;
- 26 the Honorable Thomas V. Mike Miller, Jr., President of the Senate of Maryland; and
- 27 the Honorable Casper R. Taylor, Jr., Speaker of the House of Delegates.