Unofficial Copy P5 2002 Regular Session 2lr2497

By: Delegates Ports, Amedori, Baldwin, Bartlett, Boschert, Boutin,

Brinkley, Cryor, Eckardt, Elliott, Flanagan, Getty, Glassman, Greenip, Kach, Klima, La Vay, Leopold, McKee, Murphy, O'Donnell, Parrott, Pielke, Redmer, Rzepkowski, Schisler, Shank, Snodgrass, Stocksdale, Stull, Walkup, and Bates

Introduced and read first time: February 8, 2002 Assigned to: Rules and Executive Nominations

HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION

1 A House Joint Resolution concerning

2 General Assembly Compensation - Rejection of Increases

- 3 FOR the purpose of rejecting certain items included in the Resolution of the General
- 4 Assembly Compensation Commission dated January 11, 2002 that address the
- 5 levels of compensation and allowances for members of the General Assembly;
- 6 providing that the levels of compensation and allowances for members of the
- 7 General Assembly shall remain at the levels set by the Resolution of the General
- 8 Assembly Compensation Commission dated January 7, 1998; and generally
- 9 relating to the Resolution of the General Assembly Compensation Commission
- 10 dated January 11, 2002.

11 RESOLVED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF MARYLAND, That:

- 12 (a) In accordance with the authority granted under Article III, § 15 of the
- 13 Maryland Constitution, the General Assembly rejects the recommendations for
- 14 changes in compensation and allowances submitted in the Resolution of the General
- 15 Assembly Compensation Commission dated January 11, 2002;
- 16 (b) Items 1A,1B, 2A, 2B, 2C, and 2D of the Resolution of the General Assembly
- 17 Compensation Commission dated January 11, 2002, shall be void; and
- 18 (c) The compensation and allowances to members of the General Assembly
- 19 shall be as provided in the Resolution of the General Assembly Salary Commission
- 20 dated January 7, 1998.
- 21 RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be forwarded by the Department of
- 22 Legislative Services to the Honorable Parris N. Glendening, Governor of Maryland;
- 23 the Honorable Thomas V. Mike Miller, Jr., President of the Senate of Maryland; and
- 24 the Honorable Casper R. Taylor, Jr., Speaker of the House of Delegates.